Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Bullrich2022
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2022 11:39 am

Questions about MikroTik hAP ac²

Tue Oct 18, 2022 8:51 am

Hello,
I would like to disconnect my server from the rest of the network as shown in the picture.
Is this possible with the "MikroTik hAP ac²"?
Is it possible to make the server reachable from the internet?
Is it possible to configure that I can access the Vlan 10 from the Vlan 20 but not the other way around?
What would happen if I connect the server without Vlan to the router?

Image
 
holvoetn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1836
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2021 2:14 am
Location: Belgium

Re: Questions about MikroTik hAP ac²  [SOLVED]

Tue Oct 18, 2022 1:47 pm

In order of asking:
1- yes but obviously depends on how much traffic you plan to route through that device.
2- yes, port forward would be the easiest way.
3- yes, no problem doing so.
4- depends on your config but if done right, anything connected to that specific ethernet port will end up being on VLAN10 and nothing else. No need to define those VLANs on the server. It will not even know (and it shouldn't).
 
Bullrich2022
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2022 11:39 am

Re: Questions about MikroTik hAP ac²

Tue Oct 18, 2022 2:10 pm

Thank you for the answer.
There will not be much traffic on it. Just an occasional connection from me to the server, from my husband and my mom. There is only one private Nextcloud running for the 3 of us and one private recipe database. So everything very small :)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests