Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
reevansxyz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2022 7:49 pm
Location: Asia/Kuala_Lumpur
Contact:

What's the difference?

Sun Nov 06, 2022 5:30 am

Heya there,

I would like to know what are the differences between these two PPPoE via ISP, config(s); as one is using the ethernet interface & the other is using the bridge via 802.1q :

/interface vlan
  add name=vlan500 vlan-id=500 interface=ether1 comment="VLAN unifi"
/interface pppoe-client
  add name=pppoe-out1 max-mru=1492 max-mtu=1492 interface=vlan500 \
      user="username@unifi" password="password" keepalive-timeout=5 add-default-route=yes disabled=no \
      comment="PPPoE unifi"

vs

/interface vlan
  add name=vlan500 vlan-id=500 interface=bridge1 comment="VLAN unifi"
/interface pppoe-client
  add name=pppoe-out1 max-mru=1492 max-mtu=1492 interface=vlan500 \
      user="username@unifi" password="password" keepalive-timeout=5 add-default-route=yes disabled=no \
      comment="PPPoE unifi"
/interface bridge port
  add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether1
/interface bridge vlan
  add bridge=bridge1 tagged=bridge1,ether1 vlan-ids=500
/interface bridge set bridge1 vlan-filtering=yes
Regards,
Reev
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8967
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: What's the difference?  [SOLVED]

Sun Nov 06, 2022 3:29 pm

Functional wise it's the same. The second case is as if you had a two-port managed ethernet switch between PPPoE client and ISP's CPE while the first case connects the two directly. If the switch performs poorly, then it can affect overall throughput. However there are cases where a switch there can come handy (specially if the switch has more than two ports) ...
 
User avatar
reevansxyz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2022 7:49 pm
Location: Asia/Kuala_Lumpur
Contact:

Re: What's the difference?

Mon Nov 07, 2022 11:17 pm

Functional wise it's the same. The second case is as if you had a two-port managed ethernet switch between PPPoE client and ISP's CPE while the first case connects the two directly. If the switch performs poorly, then it can affect overall throughput. However there are cases where a switch there can come handy (specially if the switch has more than two ports) ...
Copy that, thanks a heap!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: aleab, tom65 and 29 guests