Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
chuq
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2022 2:18 pm

LAN Interface static ip

Sun Nov 27, 2022 10:21 pm

I've removed ether5 from lan bridge, and assigned 192.168.88.5 ip to it
But I can't connect to this ip from my pc, and in there is an "ether5 unreachable" message in the routes list gateway col.
Where I'm wrong ?
 
User avatar
BartoszP
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2391
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Poland

Re: LAN Interface static ip

Mon Nov 28, 2022 8:19 am

What IP has your computer?
No DHCP on that interface means no traffic if your computer is not manually configured.
 
chuq
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2022 2:18 pm

Re: LAN Interface static ip

Mon Nov 28, 2022 12:00 pm

What IP has your computer?
No DHCP on that interface means no traffic if your computer is not manually configured.
My pc has been also configured with static ip from the same network (say 192.168.88.7), but they didn't see each other.
The problem disapeared when I switched them to another net (not the default one 192.168.88.0)
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8955
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: LAN Interface static ip  [SOLVED]

Mon Nov 28, 2022 2:42 pm

You can't have[*] router member of two IP subnets that have same network address ... e.g. you can't have 192.168.88.1/24 on bridge and 192.168.88.1/24 on ether5 ... router doesn't know which of the two subnets have to be used to access another device member of one of these two subnets. This is networking basics.

[*] It is possible to actually make it happen, but the setup is pretty awkward and not for the faint of heart. So just don't try to do it.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kivimart, shadow and 45 guests