Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
madcat
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:59 pm

How to connect via SSH to GPON SPF Module

Fri Oct 28, 2022 6:56 pm

Hi,

I have bought a GPON SFP module (https://www.fs.com/de-en/products/133619.html), with the goal to eliminate the Huawei HG8010G ONT which is currently between my fiber and my Mikrotik.

I would like to connect with it via SSH, so i can change the Mac and vendor settings.
But i'm not able to make a connection to it, how can i achieve this?

I do see that the SFP is recognized:
> interface/ethernet/monitor "Gateway_SFP+"
;;; SFP+
name: Gateway_SFP+
status: no-link
auto-negotiation: disabled
sfp-module-present: yes
sfp-rx-loss: yes
sfp-tx-fault: no
sfp-type: SFP-or-SFP+
sfp-connector-type: SC
sfp-link-length-sm: 20km
sfp-vendor-name: FS
sfp-vendor-part-number: GPON-ONU-34-20BI
sfp-vendor-revision: 01
sfp-vendor-serial: G2230326208
sfp-manufacturing-date: 22-09-06
sfp-wavelength: 1310nm
sfp-temperature: 49C
sfp-supply-voltage: 3.334V
sfp-tx-bias-current: 9mA
sfp-tx-power: -40dBm
sfp-rx-power: -40dBm
eeprom-checksum: good

and i have given it an IP, which is in the same network:

> ip/address/print
# ADDRESS NETWORK INTERFACE
;;; Local
0 10.0.0.1/16 10.0.0.0 bridge-local
4 10.0.0.20/32 10.0.0.0 Gateway_SFP+

But when i try to connect to it, i receive an connection refused.

ssh ONTUSER@10.0.0.20
ssh: connect to host 10.0.0.20 port 22: Connection refused

What do i need to do, to make connect to the GPON SFP module, so i can change the settings?
 
User avatar
JeanPierre
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2019 7:04 pm

Re: How to connect via SSH to GPON SPF Module

Fri Oct 28, 2022 7:06 pm

ssh ONTUSER@10.0.0.20
ssh: connect to host 10.0.0.20 port 22: Connection refused

What do i need to do, to make connect to the GPON SFP module, so i can change the settings?

The SFP web interface is at 192.168.1.10
https://hack-gpon.github.io/ont-fs-com- ... -with-mac/
 
madcat
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:59 pm

Re: How to connect via SSH to GPON SPF Module

Sat Oct 29, 2022 4:02 pm

Thanks for the tip.
i have put the SPF in a temp router to play with it.

I have created a 192.168.1.0/24 network and added the SFP to 192.168.1.15/24

> ip/address/print
Flags: X, D - DYNAMIC
Columns: ADDRESS, NETWORK, INTERFACE
# ADDRESS NETWORK INTERFACE
0 192.168.1.1/24 192.168.1.0 LAN-bridge
3 192.168.1.15/24 192.168.1.0 sfp1

I can ping the SPF
ping 192.168.1.15
SEQ HOST SIZE TTL TIME STATUS
0 192.168.1.15 56 64 396us

ssh does not work, like before:
ssh 192.168.1.15
ssh: connect to host 192.168.1.15 port 22: Connection refused

but i do not see anything on 192.168.1.10
> ping 192.168.1.10
SEQ HOST SIZE TTL TIME STATUS
0 192.168.1.10 timeout

I did not root the GPON, i assumed i could just login into it with ONTUSER/7sp!lwUBz1. via ssh.
I have read that i need to have the fiber running (link-ok, rate 1Gbps) before it's exposed, is that correct?
 
User avatar
JeanPierre
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2019 7:04 pm

Re: How to connect via SSH to GPON SPF Module  [SOLVED]

Sat Oct 29, 2022 8:20 pm

I have read that i need to have the fiber running (link-ok, rate 1Gbps) before it's exposed, is that correct?

It varies depending on the model but usually it may be necessary to connect a fiber optic cable.
https://github.com/hwti/G-010S-A/issues/24

Check the status of the sfp1 interface. If the RX Lose box is checked, then the SFP will not respond to 192.168.1.10 pings.
Besides, an Ethernet interface on SFP "Sticks" like GPON-ONU-34-20BI, G-010S-A, MA5671A is usually UP after 70-90 seconds.
 
madcat
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:59 pm

Re: How to connect via SSH to GPON SPF Module

Sat Oct 29, 2022 8:39 pm

ah, the Rx Loss is indeed checked, but i'm unable to uncheck it, because it's grayed out.

How can i uncheck this?
 
User avatar
JeanPierre
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2019 7:04 pm

Re: How to connect via SSH to GPON SPF Module

Sun Oct 30, 2022 3:39 am

The Rx Loss field should be clear with the SFP fully up and the fiber connected. Is the firmware the latest? Mikrotik has made many improvements in the last year in how GPON SFPs are detected.
If that doesn't work a cheap TP-Link MC220L or similar media converter is proven to work without much hassle.
 
tdw
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1553
Joined: Sat May 05, 2018 11:55 am

Re: How to connect via SSH to GPON SPF Module

Sun Oct 30, 2022 11:47 am

ah, the Rx Loss is indeed checked, but i'm unable to uncheck it, because it's grayed out.

How can i uncheck this?
It is a read-only value which reports the status from the SFP, you can't uncheck it. For a GPON SFP which only provide a management interface when active you have to connect it to the fibre.
 
madcat
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:59 pm

Re: How to connect via SSH to GPON SPF Module

Mon Oct 31, 2022 9:51 pm

Thanks, today my provider hooked me up so i had a valid fiber connection, this time it worked!

This is what i did to use the SFP instead of the ONU

Addresses -> Add New -> Interface SFP with address 192.168.1.15/24
tools -> telnet -> ssh ONTUSER@192.168.1.10 password is 7sp!lwUBz1

set_serial_number HWTC956EABBA
uci set network.host.macaddr=98:3F:60:00:AB:BA
uci commit network.host.macaddr=98:3F:60:00:AB:BA
sfp_i2c -i 0 -s "HUWAWEI"
sfp_i2c -i 1 -s "HG8010Hv6"
sfp_i2c -i 2 -s "0001"
sfp_i2c -i 3 -s "48575443956EABBA"
sfp_i2c -i 7 -s "HWTC"
fw_setenv sgmii_mode
uci commit
reboot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests