Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
gesWho37
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2023 4:37 am

mapLite setup issue local network

Fri Dec 08, 2023 4:43 am

The goal of using the mapLite is to have a portable, local only network (at least for now). It will serve devices like a picow which hosts a tiny website to control, for example, a string of neopixels.
currently I can see all wireless devices but I cannot yet connect to the test case which is 192.1.68.88.75.
I have tried several forum solutions. Once I was able to see the webpage but could not control it - that was after changing things but I did not write down each change. Then I tried to follow the course offered on setting up a wireless Mikrotik router, the attempt is below. Again, I can see all wireless devices connected but cannot access or see the webpage.



[admin@STEMrouter] > /export hide-sensitive
# jan/02/1970 00:41:42 by RouterOS 6.48.6
# software id = LJZJ-0FVN
#
# model = RBmAPL-2nD
# serial number = HEK08MK83F7
/interface bridge
add name=bridge1
/interface list
add name=WAN
add name=LAN
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] supplicant-identity=MikroTik
add authentication-types=wpa-psk,wpa2-psk mode=dynamic-keys name=WPA2 \
supplicant-identity=""
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] band=2ghz-b/g/n country="united states" \
disabled=no mode=ap-bridge security-profile=WPA2 ssid=mySTEM \
wireless-protocol=802.11
/ip pool
add name=dhcp_pool0 ranges=192.168.88.10-192.168.88.254
add name=dhcp ranges=192.168.88.3-192.168.88.254
/ip dhcp-server
add address-pool=dhcp_pool0 disabled=no interface=bridge1 name=dhcp1
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 interface=wlan1
add bridge=bridge1 disabled=yes interface=ether1
/interface list member
add interface=ether1 list=WAN
add interface=wlan1 list=LAN
add interface=bridge1 list=LAN
/ip address
add address=192.168.88.0/24 interface=wlan1 network=192.168.88.0
add address=192.168.88.1/24 comment="LAN SubNet" interface=bridge1 network=\
192.168.88.0
/ip dhcp-client
add disabled=no interface=ether1
/ip dhcp-server network
add address=192.168.88.0/24 gateway=192.168.88.1 netmask=24
/ip dns
set allow-remote-requests=yes servers=8.8.8.8
/system identity
set name=STEMrouter
[admin@STEMrouter] >
 
gigabyte091
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1115
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2021 11:44 am
Location: Croatia

Re: mapLite setup issue local network

Fri Dec 08, 2023 7:26 am

This config is a mess right now.

This entry is not needed as you already have dhcp_pool0 that is used by DHCP server.
/ip pool 
add name=dhcp ranges=192.168.88.3-192.168.88.254 
Why did you disabled ether1 here ?
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 disabled=yes interface=ether1 
This is wrong
/ip address
add address=192.168.88.0/24 interface=wlan1 network=192.168.88.0
WLAN interface is bridge member and bridge have IP address assigned already here:
/ip address
add address=192.168.88.1/24 comment="LAN SubNet" interface=bridge1 network=192.168.88.0
Are you trying to use this device as AP only ? If you do then this topic is for you: viewtopic.php?t=182276
 
gesWho37
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2023 4:37 am

Re: mapLite setup issue local network

Fri Dec 08, 2023 10:07 pm

12/08/2023

Thank you for the input.
This attempt was just follwing all the steps on my RB2011 Router with the exception of the Wireless addition and the fact that the mapLite is standalone from all networks and No Internet.
I can see all wireless leases. On the Quick Set the Static picow shows up as well. However, I still cannot connect to it. Webpage timed out. Obviously, I am missing something.

MikroTik RouterOS 6.48.6 (c) 1999-2021 http://www.mikrotik.com/

[admin@RouterOS] > /export hide-sensitive
# jan/02/1970 00:57:33 by RouterOS 6.48.6
# software id = LJZJ-0FVN
#
# model = RBmAPL-2nD
# serial number = HEK08MK83F7
/interface bridge
add name=bridge1
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] supplicant-identity=MikroTik
add authentication-types=wpa-psk,wpa2-psk mode=dynamic-keys name=profile1 \
supplicant-identity=""
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] band=2ghz-b/g/n country="united states" disabled=\
no mode=ap-bridge security-profile=profile1 ssid=mySTEM wireless-protocol=\
802.11
/ip pool
add name=dhcp_pool0 ranges=192.168.88.10-192.168.88.254
/ip dhcp-server
add address-pool=dhcp_pool0 disabled=no interface=bridge1 name=dhcp1
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether1
add bridge=bridge1 interface=wlan1
/ip address
add address=192.168.88.1/24 interface=bridge1 network=192.168.88.0
/ip dhcp-server network
add address=192.168.88.0/24 dns-server=192.168.88.1 gateway=192.168.88.1
/system identity
set name=RouterOS
[admin@RouterOS] >
 
gigabyte091
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1115
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2021 11:44 am
Location: Croatia

Re: mapLite setup issue local network

Sat Dec 09, 2023 8:20 am

Did you try to connect with some other device ? Avoid setting something up in quickset and then changing configuration in some other menu.

That could lead to unstable operation of your AP.

You can always try to reset to default configuration and try to connect it again.
 
gesWho37
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2023 4:37 am

Re: mapLite setup issue local network

Sat Dec 09, 2023 6:17 pm

Maybe that was a problem. When i started with NO default configuration, i noticed that QuickSet did not have DHCP Server checked, so i checked it.
So, Once the router is set up without default and QuickSet, then it is a bad idea to change anything using QuickSet after that?? Correct?
 
holvoetn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5072
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2021 2:14 am
Location: Belgium

Re: mapLite setup issue local network

Sat Dec 09, 2023 6:26 pm

Correct.
Use Quickset after starting from default, never after making manual modifications.
Or restart from default.
 
gigabyte091
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1115
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2021 11:44 am
Location: Croatia

Re: mapLite setup issue local network

Sat Dec 09, 2023 7:02 pm

Read tutorial i posted and avoid quickset, that way you will learn something and I presume you want to learn about ROS ?
 
gesWho37
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2023 4:37 am

Re: mapLite setup issue local network

Sat Dec 09, 2023 7:16 pm

Yes, very interested. I continue to watch YouTube and and have studied many tutorials. I never picked up on the fact that the two setups worked together. After setting up manually the QuikSet did not show the manual settings. That is what confused me. I thought it would know about my settings.
 
gigabyte091
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1115
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2021 11:44 am
Location: Croatia

Re: mapLite setup issue local network

Sat Dec 09, 2023 9:05 pm

Yea, quickset is a quite a weird feature in ROS. :lol:
 
gesWho37
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2023 4:37 am

Re: mapLite setup issue local network

Sun Dec 10, 2023 1:17 am

Thank everyone for the help. Fortunately, I saved a backup just before clicking on Quick Set. With that backup Pinging works and the tiny PicoW webserver displays. However, there seems to be a timing or handshaking issue. When I click on one webserver tab the function is accomplished and then the webserver hangs. This is not an issue on another duplicate PicoW webserver connected to my home network. More homework. But I am happy to get this far.
 
gigabyte091
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1115
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2021 11:44 am
Location: Croatia

Re: mapLite setup issue local network

Sun Dec 10, 2023 5:45 am

This other issue may be server problem ?
 
gesWho37
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2023 4:37 am

Re: mapLite setup issue local network

Sun Dec 10, 2023 6:03 pm

I will double check the PicoW code.
I looked at the Log captured on WinBox and found the following. Interference could also be an issue. I will find a more secluded spot and try.
The Log reported "extensive data loss" and when I looked it up it said:

Possible causes of extensive data loss in Mikrotik include:
• Weak signal
• Remote device turned off
• Strong interference
• RF related issue that makes communication impossible
• Interference by another device that is too close to the antenna
 
gigabyte091
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1115
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2021 11:44 am
Location: Croatia

Re: mapLite setup issue local network

Sun Dec 10, 2023 8:33 pm

Try to scan area and select channel with least amount of interference.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 11 guests