Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
courtois
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2019 11:05 pm

DHCP Starting IP from 192.168.88.2

Sat Feb 17, 2024 5:59 am

Hello,
need to start my DHCP from 192.168.88.2. because, by default, DHCP give me the first adress as 192.168.88.254.
how can do this?
thank you
Last edited by holvoetn on Sat Feb 17, 2024 6:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Typo in title
 
User avatar
nichky
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1278
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 2:35 pm

Re: DHCP Starting IP form 192.168.88.2

Sat Feb 17, 2024 1:12 pm

statically
 
Mesquite
Member
Member
Posts: 420
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2024 9:16 pm

Re: DHCP Starting IP form 192.168.88.2

Sat Feb 17, 2024 3:05 pm

Its one of the funny perks of RoS DHCP leases. It doesnt start applying leases at the start of the pool by default, but at the end of the pool.
But my ccr1009 does not, so I have no idea how to control it, maybe its random.

I believe someone asked for a software change so one could choose a. start of pool, b. end of pool, c. random pluck.
Dont think it went anywhere.
 
jaclaz
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 609
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2023 4:21 pm

Re: DHCP Starting IP form 192.168.88.2

Sat Feb 17, 2024 3:20 pm

It has been reported (but no idea if it is still the case in newer RoS versions) that setting one single address as static reverses the logic, as well as if you reduce the width of the IP pool:
viewtopic.php?t=134404

Discussions on this feature (or lack of it) are around since at least 2011, here is a poll:
viewtopic.php?t=53802
 
holvoetn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5442
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2021 2:14 am
Location: Belgium

Re: DHCP Starting IP form 192.168.88.2

Sat Feb 17, 2024 5:49 pm

DHCP is DHCP.
What does it matter if it starts at the end or the beginning as long as the pool is properly used ?
Just wondering....
 
jaclaz
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 609
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2023 4:21 pm

Re: DHCP Starting IP form 192.168.88.2

Sat Feb 17, 2024 6:03 pm

DHCP is DHCP.
What does it matter if it starts at the end or the beginning as long as the pool is properly used ?
Just wondering....
It is a matter of preferences, there is no place like 192.168.1.2 :wink:
https://whatismyipaddress.com/private-ip
https://www.technadu.com/192-168-1-2/239924/
 
holvoetn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5442
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2021 2:14 am
Location: Belgium

Re: DHCP Starting IP from 192.168.88.2

Sat Feb 17, 2024 6:13 pm

And what does this have to do with DHCP ?

Private or public, it's all IP. Same DHCP-process.
 
fragtion
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2009 10:08 pm
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

Re: DHCP Starting IP from 192.168.88.2

Sun Feb 18, 2024 4:13 pm

Starting from the end of the pool is better for people who want to assign static addresses at the beginning of the pool as there is a greater chance that the lower IP address (which are usually preferred for static leases) will be free to use for the static assignments

But for people who are unlikely to assign static IP's (or are just happy to convert a dynamic lease to static and would prefer IP's lower in the range for doing so), they could prefer DHCP assignment from the lower end of the pool first

As for the question "why does it matter, DHCP is DHCP". Some people may have a personal preference, others may have a specific use case requirement. Just because you don't recognise this or need it doesn't mean the same will apply for all. Like yes, the difference is practically negligible you are correct. But there is a difference and even if the only implication of it is to calm someone's OCD or "perfectionist" preferences, it's justified lol. But yes I'm also curious why OP specifically wants this. I prefer the reverse order assignment to be honest. Took some getting used to but it's better IMO
 
gabacho4
Member
Member
Posts: 331
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2020 12:30 pm
Location: Earth

Re: DHCP Starting IP from 192.168.88.2

Sun Feb 18, 2024 4:47 pm

If you want to assign static IPs I believe most people just adjust the DHCP range to account for those IPs. (i.e. if I want 50 static IPs, I set my DHCP range to be 10.10.1.51-10.10.1.254 instead of starting at 10.10.1.2). I personally don't care about devices with dynamic IPs, or what IP they are assigned, as I have no interest in connecting to them for services. If I did, they'd have static IPs.
 
courtois
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2019 11:05 pm

Re: DHCP Starting IP form 192.168.88.2

Thu Feb 22, 2024 12:19 am

DHCP is DHCP.
What does it matter if it starts at the end or the beginning as long as the pool is properly used ?
Just wondering....
Hin when you replace existing router with Mikrotik and some IP are set manualy (printer....)with end of the pool, you can facing a big conflict.
 
gigabyte091
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1185
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2021 11:44 am
Location: Croatia

Re: DHCP Starting IP from 192.168.88.2

Thu Feb 22, 2024 7:05 am

Yes, also you can setup replacement router before you connect it to the network so you avoid such a thing 8) What I do is I connect devices, leave them to pick up IP via DHCP and then I simply create a lease and modify IP to desired one. Disconnect and connect again and device have desired IP which is now reserved.
 
holvoetn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5442
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2021 2:14 am
Location: Belgium

Re: DHCP Starting IP form 192.168.88.2

Thu Feb 22, 2024 8:29 am

DHCP is DHCP.
What does it matter if it starts at the end or the beginning as long as the pool is properly used ?
Just wondering....
Hin when you replace existing router with Mikrotik and some IP are set manualy (printer....)with end of the pool, you can facing a big conflict.
Not really.
DHCP is smart enough to first check if an IP is already in use before handing it out. No conflict.

Secondly, if you replace a router, you normally use the same pool. No conflict.

Third, manually assigned addresses should NOT be part of the pool.
So no conflict possible either.

I am still waiting for a VALID reason why it would be a problem to start at the bottom or top of a pool (except for cosmetic reasons like "because I like it that way", those don't count :lol: ).

I believe (some ?) Linux dhcp daemon versions also start from the top ... so where is the problem ?
 
User avatar
k6ccc
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1493
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 12:01 am
Location: Glendora, CA, USA (near Los Angeles)
Contact:

Re: DHCP Starting IP from 192.168.88.2

Fri Feb 23, 2024 11:36 pm

My RB4011 with a small DHCP pool (10 or 20 IPs) for each LAN and a large number of static reservations, assigns from the top of the pool (on the rare occasions that an unknown device connects). All regularly known devices have static reservations.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jb1204 and 13 guests