Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
mrleamerz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2022 12:31 am

CRS309-1G-8S+ No link till reboot.

Sun Dec 18, 2022 5:16 am

I have and LOVE my CRS309-1G-8S+, if i plug something into one of the ports 1g or a 10g SFP module the ports don't work. If i leave them in and reboot they work. What is causing this to only work if i reboot this switch ?

I have factory reset it, i have set it to their link ie 1g or 10g.

Thoughts ?
 
mrleamerz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2022 12:31 am

Re: CRS309-1G-8S+ No link till reboot.

Tue Dec 20, 2022 2:32 am

NO one ? Not even a hint ?
 
tangent
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1379
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2021 3:15 pm
Contact:

Re: CRS309-1G-8S+ No link till reboot.

Tue Dec 20, 2022 3:12 am

The implication is that this isn’t happening to anyone else.

So, what’s unusual about your environment? If the problem isn’t internal to the device…
 
mrleamerz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2022 12:31 am

Re: CRS309-1G-8S+ No link till reboot.

Tue Dec 20, 2022 4:23 am

The implication is that this isn’t happening to anyone else.

So, what’s unusual about your environment? If the problem isn’t internal to the device…
Well if i plug in a 10gtek dac, and reboot it works flawless, if i move it to another port it won't work till i reboot. I have tried many DAC's & brands and they all do the same thing.
 
tangent
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1379
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2021 3:15 pm
Contact:

Re: CRS309-1G-8S+ No link till reboot.

Tue Dec 20, 2022 4:35 am

I ask for the unusual pieces of your environment, and you give me the boring elements most proximate to your switch? Are you trying to be difficult?

Unusual = not the things everyone else here is using.

Environment = complete surroundings.

Try drawing a network map.
 
mrleamerz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2022 12:31 am

Re: CRS309-1G-8S+ No link till reboot.

Tue Dec 20, 2022 4:48 am

I ask for the unusual pieces of your environment, and you give me the boring elements most proximate to your switch? Are you trying to be difficult?

Unusual = not the things everyone else here is using.

Environment = complete surroundings.

Try drawing a network map.
What does my network have to do with the ports not working till i reboot. its a SFP+ switch it connects my desktop and my 5 other switches.
 
tangent
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1379
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2021 3:15 pm
Contact:

Re: CRS309-1G-8S+ No link till reboot.

Tue Dec 20, 2022 4:57 am

If you knew what mattered here, you’d have the problem solved already. How about you take a step back and accept that you’re here for another perspective. If I ask you for something you didn’t think to provide, that’s your alternative perspective, right there.
 
mrleamerz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2022 12:31 am

Re: CRS309-1G-8S+ No link till reboot.

Tue Dec 20, 2022 5:35 am

If you knew what mattered here, you’d have the problem solved already. How about you take a step back and accept that you’re here for another perspective. If I ask you for something you didn’t think to provide, that’s your alternative perspective, right there.
Ok, I can accept that.

I have a OPNsense Firewall it goes to a Engenius 8 port 2.5gig poe switch with 4 sfp+ ports, Port 8 is the uplink from my OPNSense firewall.

Port 12 SFP+ on the Engenius switch goes to my Microtik CRS309 port 8, My desktop is plugged into port 7 with a 10g SFP+ Fibre adapter that runs over to a intel nic.
Port 6 is going to my Unifi Edge switch 48 port with a Unifi Dac cable. I have Tried the Cisco Dac cable unifi Dac cable 10gtek Dac cable & a tenfour optics SFP= Optical transcevier.
ALL the DACS & optic receiver act the same, If i plug them in, nothing lights up or shows in the gui. If i reboot the switch they all work. If i unplug the DAC or Optical transceiver they don't come back on line till rebooting the switch.
Im running switch os 2.13.

Happy now :)
 
tangent
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1379
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2021 3:15 pm
Contact:

Re: CRS309-1G-8S+ No link till reboot.

Tue Dec 20, 2022 6:14 pm

Nothing jumps out at me, and if I may judge from the silence of others, at anyone else, either.

If you were running RouterOS, I’d next suggest posting the sanitized configuration and the logs you get on connection. Since you aren’t, my advice is to switch to RouterOS. If that doesn’t clear things up all by itself, it’ll give you more and better debugging tools.
 
darthgizm0
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2022 5:27 am
Location: USA

Re: CRS309-1G-8S+ No link till reboot.

Fri Dec 23, 2022 7:20 pm

Is it possible the ports are not hot swappable, or the interfaces need to be cycled administratively for it to recognize the module?
 
tyu
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2022 1:58 pm

Re: CRS309-1G-8S+ No link till reboot.

Wed Dec 28, 2022 1:49 am

Any chance "port lock" is on for all the ports? I don't know what its behavior is like, but from browsing the SwOS manual, that was the only thing that looked like it could possibly behave as you describe.
 
JustVisiting
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2023 1:09 am

Re: CRS309-1G-8S+ No link till reboot.

Wed Oct 25, 2023 1:20 am

Same thing happening to me in SWOS with version 2.13 installed. Using a pair of DAC cables connecting to a QNAP NAS. Anyone have easy suggestion?
 
yavin
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2022 9:44 am

Re: CRS309-1G-8S+ No link till reboot.

Sun Oct 29, 2023 11:23 am

Same here with version 2.13 SwOS, but randomly links doesn´t get active.

Example1: Switch is powered up: Connecting SFP+ modules 10G LC SR for example Port 2 and 4, port 4 comes up, port 2 not until i repowered switch hard. Then both links working as expected.

Example2: Switch is working with 24/7 active links. Fired up PC with 10G SFP+ connection, sometimes (random) don´t get an link till i hotpluged SFP+ module in switch and sometimes i´ve to repower switch for link coming up.

Tried to test autonegotiation off and set 10G for Ports on both ends of LC (thinking about an problem of autonegotiation on SwOS) but switch only let me choose 10m, 100m or 1G but not 10G.

Tried a lot of different DACs, tried a lot of different SFP+ modules.

With other switches like TP-Link Omada, Netgear and other vendors i´ve not this problems.
CSS326 is also working without SFP+ module disconnects for that reason.

Maybe time for an CRS309 SwOS Update/Upgrade ?

Dont´t know what to test so far in time for resolving this problem before went back to other vendor, cause love SwOS and Mikrotik Switches.

Best regards

yavin
 
Prefix8146
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2024 4:17 pm

Re: CRS309-1G-8S+ No link till reboot.

Mon Feb 19, 2024 4:37 pm

Just want to chime in and say I'm facing the same issue with my CRS309-1G-8S+ running SwOS 2.13. It started after I doubled up the DAC cables to my NAS as well as my CSS326-24P-2S uplink ports and configuring them as a LAG. Ports 1 & 2 go to our Desktop PCs, 3 & 4 are empty, 5 & 6 go to the NAS and 7 & 8 go to the other switch. I already noticed when plugging in the new cables, that the ports wouldn't light up. Replugging them didn't help, so i rebooted the switch. Since then, after a complete reboot of the PCs, neither of them would get a link to the switch. The WebUI shows that the FC modules are installed and are seeing rx/tx power of around -3 dBm at 3.3V, but the link state stays off. As others have said, the only way to currently fix this is to reboot the switch. At first I thought the LAGs are the problem, but completely removing them didn't work either.

I'll try resetting the config completely today and see if that does something.
 
Prefix8146
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2024 4:17 pm

Re: CRS309-1G-8S+ No link till reboot.

Mon Feb 26, 2024 2:02 pm

So I reset the configuration and even installed the new 2.16 update, but the issue persists for one of the connected PCs. The other surprisingly works now most of the time, but it's still very annoying to perform reboots anytime this happens.
 
User avatar
woland
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2021 4:49 pm

Re: CRS309-1G-8S+ No link till reboot.

Mon Feb 26, 2024 7:00 pm

I have an CRS309-1G-8S+ and I also have some 10Gtek 10G DACs and some other random 10GBaseT modules. I have never experienced this issue, but I was always running ROS and not SwOS. This switch has so many great features and a relatively powerful CPU, you should give ROS a try.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests