Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
arandomdave
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2022 4:59 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

CAPsMAN hAP AX2 Drops

Fri Feb 23, 2024 11:44 am

Hi all, I've been struggling to get a stable wireless network with a hAP AX2 (C52iG-5HaxD2HaxD) configured by CAPsMAN on my RB5009.

During videoconferencing calls, the client device (Windows 11 laptop with Intel "Wi-Fi 6E AX211 160MHz" v23.20.0.4) drops. it seems fairly stable other than on video calls.

A separate, standalone (cAP ax) seems fine and offers a stable connection for the same client device.

Sometimes the client will hop between 2.4 and 5, so I disabled the 5Ghz to see if that stopped it - but the client then just joins a different SSID. I also tried setting the client to prefer 2.4Ghz.

The logs on the RB5009 report:
admin@MikroTik] > /log/ print 
 08:08:20 wireless,info 90:09:DF:1B:0F:53@cap-wifi2 connected, signal strength -63
 08:58:58 wireless,info 90:09:DF:1B:0F:53@cap-wifi2 disconnected, connection lost, signal strength -64
 08:58:58 wireless,debug 90:09:DF:1B:0F:53@cap-wifi2 disassociated, connection lost, signal strength -64
The client logs (netsh wlan show wlanreport)
11004	2024-02-23T08:58:58	
[‒]Wireless security stopped.

Network Adapter: Intel(R) Wi-Fi 6E AX211 160MHz
Interface GUID: {babb607d-3a71-4746-badb-466dd9030aa7}
Local MAC Address: 90:09:DF:1B:0F:53
Network SSID: NETWORK 
BSS Type: Infrastructure
Security Hint: The operation was successful.
8003	2024-02-23T08:59:04	
[‒]WLAN AutoConfig service has successfully disconnected from a wireless network.

Network Adapter: Intel(R) Wi-Fi 6E AX211 160MHz
Interface GUID: {babb607d-3a71-4746-badb-466dd9030aa7}
Connection Mode: Manual connection with a profile
Profile Name: NETWORK
SSID: NETWORK
BSS Type: Infrastructure
Reason: The network is disconnected by the driver.
Config on the rb5009:
/interface wifi channel
add band=2ghz-ax comment="Excl ch1 - 2412" disabled=no frequency=2437,2462 name=NETWORK-2G skip-dfs-channels=all width=20mhz
add band=5ghz-ax disabled=no name=NETWORK-5G skip-dfs-channels=all width=20mhz
/interface wifi datapath
add bridge=bridge disabled=no name=NETWORK
/interface wifi security
add authentication-types=wpa2-psk,wpa3-psk connect-priority=0/1 disabled=no management-protection=allowed name=NETWORK wps=disable
/interface wifi configuration
add channel=NETWORK-2G country="United Kingdom" datapath.bridge=bridge disabled=no mode=ap name=NETWORK-2G security=NETWORK security.connect-group=G2 .connect-priority=0/1 ssid=NETWORK2
add datapath.bridge=bridge disabled=yes mode=ap name=NETWORK-5G security=NETWORK security.connect-group=G5 .connect-priority=0/1 ssid=NETWORK2
/interface wifi
# SSID not set
add configuration=NETWORK-5G disabled=no name=cap-wifi1 radio-mac=78:9A:18:6F:08:10
add configuration=NETWORK-2G disabled=no name=cap-wifi2 radio-mac=78:9A:18:6F:08:11
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] supplicant-identity=MikroTik
/interface wifi capsman
set ca-certificate=auto certificate=auto enabled=yes interfaces=bridge package-path="" require-peer-certificate=no upgrade-policy=suggest-same-version
/interface wifi provisioning
add action=create-enabled disabled=no master-configuration=NETWORK-2G supported-bands=2ghz-ax
add action=create-enabled disabled=no master-configuration=NETWORK-5G supported-bands=5ghz-ax
Connect-Group / Connect-Priority was set to avoid "SA Query Timeout" issues.

Is anyone able to suggest where I might have gone wrong, or any additional logging i can enable to narrow down what is happening?
Last edited by arandomdave on Fri Feb 23, 2024 3:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
erlinden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1958
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:59 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: CAPsMAN hAP AX2 Drops

Fri Feb 23, 2024 11:54 am

I ran into problems with one client that wasn't able to roam (and some more strange behavour) caused by having both WPA2-PSK and WPA3-PSK.
You might want to give WPA2-PSK only a try.
 
arandomdave
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2022 4:59 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: CAPsMAN hAP AX2 Drops

Fri Feb 23, 2024 2:59 pm

I ran into problems with one client that wasn't able to roam (and some more strange behavour) caused by having both WPA2-PSK and WPA3-PSK.
You might want to give WPA2-PSK only a try.
Thanks for the suggestion, unfortunately removing WPA3-PSK didn't help.
/interface wifi security
add authentication-types=wpa2-psk connect-priority=0/1 disabled=no management-protection=allowed name=NETWORK wps=disable
 
User avatar
Ca6ko
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 500
Joined: Wed May 04, 2022 10:59 pm
Location: Kharkiv, Ukraine

Re: CAPsMAN hAP AX2 Drops

Fri Feb 23, 2024 3:27 pm

Add ft=yes ft-over-ds=yes to the /interface wifi security this will shorten the switching time.
Enable 5 GHz.
On wifi only the client decides where and when to switch, if the client decides that the connection quality on 2.4 with your SSID is bad he switches. The 2.4 band is probably overloaded.
 
arandomdave
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2022 4:59 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: CAPsMAN hAP AX2 Drops

Fri Feb 23, 2024 3:53 pm

Add ft=yes ft-over-ds=yes to the /interface wifi security this will shorten the switching time.
Enable 5 GHz.
On wifi only the client decides where and when to switch, if the client decides that the connection quality on 2.4 with your SSID is bad he switches. The 2.4 band is probably overloaded.
Thanks for the suggestion! From a Wi-Fi perspective there's nothing on the same 2.4GHz channel. I disabled the 5GHz for testing as the issue occurs regardless of whether the client is connected to 2.4 or 5 and wanted something to eliminate and the 2.4 signal was (obviously) stronger. I've re-enabled the 5 GHz.

I don't get the issue with the cAP ax, which doesn't have any ft config, but have added it to CAPsMAN and will see what happens next. Thank you.
 
arandomdave
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2022 4:59 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: CAPsMAN hAP AX2 Drops

Fri Feb 23, 2024 6:42 pm

Unfortunately, the same issue occurs with "ft=yes ft-over-ds=yes" (on 2.4/5, with WPA2-PSK only)

Any other ideas on how I can narrow down the cause?
 
bleve2000
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2023 12:51 pm

Re: CAPsMAN hAP AX2 Drops

Tue Feb 27, 2024 8:06 am

Try to add that client to access list with 'Allow Signal Out Of Range' parameter set.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
arandomdave
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2022 4:59 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: CAPsMAN hAP AX2 Drops

Tue Feb 27, 2024 1:11 pm

Thanks!, have added to the config and will report back
/interface wifi access-list
add action=accept allow-signal-out-of-range=10s disabled=no mac-address=90:09:DF:1B:0F:53 signal-range=0
 
arandomdave
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2022 4:59 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: CAPsMAN hAP AX2 Drops

Tue Feb 27, 2024 3:20 pm

Unfortunately, no improvement.
 
Santi70
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2020 12:35 am

Re: CAPsMAN hAP AX2 Drops

Wed Feb 28, 2024 2:24 pm

I had the following problem, mostly on iphone, the other devices worked fine, never disconnected except for roaming.
Log_conx.png
After much testing, the only solution I found was to disable WPA3.
# 2024-02-28 12:20:18 by RouterOS 7.14rc3
# software id = G48Y-1U35
#
# model = RBD52G-5HacD2HnD
# serial number = XXXXX
/interface wifi security
add authentication-types=wpa2-psk disabled=no ft=yes ft-over-ds=yes name=sec1 wps=disable
/interface wifi
set [ find default-name=wifi1 ] channel.frequency=2462 .width=20mhz configuration.country=\
    Spain .mode=ap .ssid=HOME .tx-power=9 disabled=no security=sec1
set [ find default-name=wifi2 ] channel.frequency=5660,5220 .width=20/40mhz \
    configuration.country=Spain .mode=ap .ssid=HOME .tx-power=16 disabled=no security=sec1
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
robmaltsystems
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 574
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2019 12:04 pm

Re: CAPsMAN hAP AX2 Drops

Sun Apr 07, 2024 11:23 pm

After much testing, the only solution I found was to disable WPA3.
I've just done the exact same thing on my home hAP AX2. My not-that-old Lenovo laptop really struggles with a 5GHz connection with many SA Query timeout errors in the log. Switch back to WPA-PSK/WPA2-PSK combo, disabling WPA3-PSK and all is well.

It this a RouterOS problem or some problem with the laptop driver?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests