Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
mattlach
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue May 19, 2020 7:40 pm

cAP AX Blocking Performance at gigabit?

Fri Mar 01, 2024 1:26 am

Hi everyone,

I was reading the cAP ax specifications.

It claims max bandwidth at 5ghz of 1200Mbit/s and a max 2.4Ghz bandwidth of 574 Mbit/s.

Now, I am no beginner when it comes to WiFi, and I know these max figures are rarely achieved in real life (and are half duplex at that) but theoretically when adding them up you get 1774 Mbit/s over a gigabit port.

Now, I've noticed it has two ports, one of which supports PoE.

From what I have read, it looks like the cAP ax by default uses one port for WAN and one for LAN in some sort of routing configuration, but I don't want that. These are on the LAN, and routing to the WAN is done elsewhere on the network.

Could I:
- Power the cAP AX using the round ac adapter plug
- while power a nearby switch (a CRS326-24G-2S+) using the PoE out port
- and simultaneously use LAGG to combine the two gigabit ports to that nearby switch, eliminating the potential blocking condition (at least with parallel loads)?

The switch is then connected to upstream using one of the SFP+ ports at 10gig.

Appreciate any input,
Matt
 
igorr29
newbie
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2024 12:53 pm

Re: cAP AX Blocking Performance at gigabit?

Fri Mar 01, 2024 8:42 am

the wifi of both radios togehter won't ever reach 1gbit, so don't bother.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 26378
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: cAP AX Blocking Performance at gigabit?

Fri Mar 01, 2024 9:09 am

Yes, you can do that, use bonding to combine the ports, and you could go over a Gigabit this way. RouterOS is very flexible, there is no "hard coded" roles for ports. Any port can be anything.
 
User avatar
Ca6ko
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 500
Joined: Wed May 04, 2022 10:59 pm
Location: Kharkiv, Ukraine

Re: cAP AX Blocking Performance at gigabit?

Sun Mar 03, 2024 4:16 pm

1200 Mbits/s and 574 Mbits/s these streams can pass only on wifi ports of pure data there is half of it, so 1774 can not get to ethernet port.
CAP AX judging by the specification can not power CRS326-24G-2S+ it does not have enough power even if you use a power supply at 30V, the maximum you can supply 18W, and CRS326-24G-2S+ consumes up to 21W. From a standard 24V power supply can deliver 14W.
 
mattlach
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue May 19, 2020 7:40 pm

Re: cAP AX Blocking Performance at gigabit?

Mon Mar 04, 2024 8:40 am

CAP AX judging by the specification can not power CRS326-24G-2S+ it does not have enough power even if you use a power supply at 30V, the maximum you can supply 18W, and CRS326-24G-2S+ consumes up to 21W. From a standard 24V power supply can deliver 14W.
Indeed. I misread the specs.

That is a shame. I will have to figure out another solution.

Thank you for pointing that out.
 
User avatar
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 11603
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: cAP AX Blocking Performance at gigabit?

Mon Mar 04, 2024 9:02 am

That is a shame. I will have to figure out another solution.
You can (almost) always use RBGPOE - a passive PoE injector. It's specified at 2A and can go up to 57V. The only thing it doesn't do: it doesn't free up one power socket ... as you have to use a power adapter to provide power to it (and connected PoE device). On the upside: you can use power adapter, which came with device you want to PoE.
 
Rox169
Member
Member
Posts: 434
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2021 1:47 am

Re: cAP AX Blocking Performance at gigabit?

Mon Mar 04, 2024 9:09 am

deleted

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests