Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
dmytrodpua
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 29, 2024 7:38 pm

cap AC upgrade to 7.14 failed

Thu Feb 29, 2024 7:50 pm

Hello. I just did a firmware update from version 7.13.5 to version 7.14 on the RBcAPGi-5acD2nD access point. After the reboot, the blue indicator lights up for 2 seconds, then the "User" indicator lights up. Then they glow together for another two seconds, after which the E1 and E2 indicators flash briefly. After this, all four indicators go out and everything repeats all over again. The router does not respond to the Reset button. So I can't reset to factory default and I can't s switch the AP to netinstall mode. How to fix the situation? Thanks in advance for your answers.
 
whatever
Member
Member
Posts: 352
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 9:29 pm

Re: cap AC upgrade to 7.14 failed

Thu Feb 29, 2024 9:37 pm

Try to boot into netinstall mode via backup RouterBOOT loader, see documentation at https://help.mikrotik.com/docs/display/ROS/Reset+Button
tl;dr: hold reset button while power is still off and keep it pressed until the led turns off (15+ seconds after power-on).
 
dmytrodpua
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 29, 2024 7:38 pm

Re: cap AC upgrade to 7.14 failed

Thu Feb 29, 2024 10:00 pm

Try to boot into netinstall mode via backup RouterBOOT loader, see documentation at https://help.mikrotik.com/docs/display/ROS/Reset+Button
tl;dr: hold reset button while power is still off and keep it pressed until the led turns off (15+ seconds after power-on).
Unfortunately this did not produce results. The access point is still not working. :-(
 
dmytrodpua
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 29, 2024 7:38 pm

Re: cap AC upgrade to 7.14 failed

Thu Feb 29, 2024 10:23 pm

LED blinking looks like this. And pressing the reset button has no effect on this blinking
https://youtu.be/49l-ygo5obk
 
holvoetn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5445
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2021 2:14 am
Location: Belgium

Re: cap AC upgrade to 7.14 failed

Thu Feb 29, 2024 11:00 pm

Press button before power on.
Keep pressed until it appears in netinstall window.
 
dmytrodpua
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 29, 2024 7:38 pm

Re: cap AC upgrade to 7.14 failed

Fri Mar 01, 2024 11:33 am

Press button before power on.
Keep pressed until it appears in netinstall window.
Unfortunately, Netinstall will not see my access point, because the status on the network interface is “Cable not connected”
 
holvoetn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5445
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2021 2:14 am
Location: Belgium

Re: cap AC upgrade to 7.14 failed

Fri Mar 01, 2024 11:44 am

Windows or Linux ?
If Windows, make sure ALL external interfaces are disabled except ethernet.

You can also try a stupid dumb switch in between.
 
dmytrodpua
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 29, 2024 7:38 pm

Re: cap AC upgrade to 7.14 failed

Fri Mar 01, 2024 12:50 pm

Windows or Linux ?
If Windows, make sure ALL external interfaces are disabled except ethernet.

You can also try a stupid dumb switch in between.
Windows laptop.
This solution didn't help. The link on the switch lights up just as briefly as on the access point. netinstall does not see the access point. :-(
 
STMT
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2022 12:02 pm

Re: cap AC upgrade to 7.14 failed

Fri Mar 01, 2024 2:27 pm

Try to Netinstall any other router, just to be sure that Netinstall is properly configured.

Use the Netinstall utility version 7.14 Stable to reinstall the device.
https://youtu.be/gzlLbIf3Dbk

Or try Netinstall on Linux: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CiVwzHwQq_Y

Make sure to use the latest files from our download page when you do this procedure: https://mikrotik.com/download

If you do not succeed, make sure that your Netinstall and computer configuration fits these prerequisites: https://help.mikrotik.com/docs/display/ROS/Netinstall

There are two types of booters available for use: the regular booter and the backup booter. It's essential to verify both options.
  • To use the Regular booter press the Reset button after a 1-2 second delay from when you power it on.
  • To employ the backup booter, power OFF the device. Press the Reset button and power on your device (wait until the "USR" led is blinking then stable "On", and when the "USR" led is "Off" - release the Reset button) - the device is booting in bootp mode to reinstall RouterOS using Netinstall.
 
infabo
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 665
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2020 12:07 pm

Re: cap AC upgrade to 7.14 failed

Fri Mar 01, 2024 6:19 pm

Netinstall for Linux is god sent. It is so much easier to use than the Windows application without bitching around like "disable all other network adapter but the one!". Just works
 
holvoetn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5445
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2021 2:14 am
Location: Belgium

Re: cap AC upgrade to 7.14 failed

Fri Mar 01, 2024 6:25 pm

Totally agree there. Never looked back since using Linux.
 
dmytrodpua
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 29, 2024 7:38 pm

Re: cap AC upgrade to 7.14 failed  [SOLVED]

Fri Mar 01, 2024 6:48 pm

Friends, thank you all very much for your help. I solved the problem. The power adapter supplied 10V instead of the required 17V. The access point simply could not start. It tried, as you can see in my video. But it couldn't. Replacing the power supply solved the problem. Netinstall flashed the firmware.
 
User avatar
patrikg
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 253
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 6:38 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: cap AC upgrade to 7.14 failed

Fri Mar 01, 2024 8:19 pm

We are very pleased to hear you solved the problem, but we would be even more pleased if you also hit this bar to mark this thread as solved.
Image
Last edited by patrikg on Fri Mar 01, 2024 8:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
holvoetn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5445
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2021 2:14 am
Location: Belgium

Re: cap AC upgrade to 7.14 failed

Fri Mar 01, 2024 8:19 pm

Why ?
 
dmytrodpua
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 29, 2024 7:38 pm

Re: cap AC upgrade to 7.14 failed

Fri Mar 01, 2024 9:56 pm

We are very pleased to hear you solved the problem, but we would be even more pleased if you also hit this bar to mark this thread as solved.
Image
I don't have this button. Probably my status on the forum does not allow me to assign the status Solved.
 
holvoetn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5445
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2021 2:14 am
Location: Belgium

Re: cap AC upgrade to 7.14 failed

Fri Mar 01, 2024 9:58 pm

To the right.
But why ?
 
User avatar
patrikg
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 253
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 6:38 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: cap AC upgrade to 7.14 failed

Fri Mar 01, 2024 10:10 pm

You need to be logged in to be able to press and see this bar, and you must press the thread answer that solved your problem. In this case, your own answer.

@holvoetn
So we as the community of solving these problems don't have to read already solved problems.
And maybe in the feature the AI will get all this problems and all marked solved with the correct answer. So the human feeding the Ai to the correct answer to these problems.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests