Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
RcRaCk2k
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 10:40 pm

BGP + ECMP

Tue Dec 07, 2021 6:20 pm

Hi Guys,

how to enable ECMP for BGP routes?
> /ip/route/print detail where !inactive
Flags: D - dynamic; X - disabled, I - inactive, A - active; c - connect, s - static, r - rip, b - bgp, o - ospf, d - dhcp, v - vpn, m - modem, y - copy; H - hw-offloaded; + - ecmp 
   D b   dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 routing-table=main gateway=172.16.11.129 immediate-gw=172.16.11.129%sfp-sfpplus1.uplink.v2221
            distance=20 scope=40 target-scope=10 suppress-hw-offload=no 

   DAb   dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 routing-table=main gateway=172.16.11.1 immediate-gw=172.16.11.1%sfp-sfpplus1.uplink.v2220
             distance=20 scope=40 target-scope=10 suppress-hw-offload=no 

 0   s   dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 routing-table=main pref-src="" gateway=172.16.11.1 immediate-gw=172.16.11.1%sfp-sfpplus1.uplink.v2220
           distance=100 scope=30 target-scope=10 suppress-hw-offload=no 
Both BGP default-routes are installed in fib, but only one is active.
 
User avatar
smyers119
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 232
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2021 8:16 pm
Location: USA

Re: BGP + ECMP

Tue Dec 07, 2021 8:27 pm

On other venders you can increase "maximum-paths" 2, to enable ecmp. I was looking through the options in ROS CLI and could not find something similar.
 
User avatar
clambert
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2019 5:04 am

Re: BGP + ECMP

Tue Dec 07, 2021 11:02 pm

I think that this feature it's not available in ROS v6.

Also not available in ROS v7 yet:
https://help.mikrotik.com/docs/display/ ... col+Status
 
RcRaCk2k
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 10:40 pm

Re: BGP + ECMP

Tue Dec 07, 2021 11:17 pm

I thought that v7 is the first ROS that support BGP with multipath (ECMP).

This makes me a little bit angry.

Currently i use Ubiquiti Routers to achive ECMP with BGP. I moved many routers to Mikrotik because in some topics ECMP for BGP on Mikrotik was planed for v7.x - and now, this feature is not ready yet? Damn it :lol:
 
aleksis
newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2014 12:13 pm

Re: BGP + ECMP

Wed Dec 08, 2021 8:28 am

Edit: I stand corrected, BGP multi path is not supported at the moment.
ECMP is supported. You should look at '/routing/route/print detail' to debug this.
 
RcRaCk2k
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 10:40 pm

Re: BGP + ECMP

Thu Feb 10, 2022 11:23 am

To the Mikrotik Engineers:

Please add BGP ECMP to the List of https://help.mikrotik.com/docs/display/ ... col+Status so we can track the availability of that feature in ROS v7.x

Thank you.
 
gammy69er
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 79
Joined: Sun May 18, 2014 3:01 am

Re: BGP + ECMP

Tue Mar 22, 2022 12:06 am

I am here because it does apper to be working for me... in ONE case... and I am not sure how. It's also "Almost" working in a second case - but the secondary route is still blue - even though both are stating ECMP (+ in status)

In both of these cases - they are iBGP - but i cannot confirm the trigger 100%. I can confirm that if I set nexthop to the upstream as the "Mid" router - the + in status dissappears in one of the cases (have yet to test more)

7.1.3
 
gammy69er
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 79
Joined: Sun May 18, 2014 3:01 am

Re: BGP + ECMP

Tue Mar 22, 2022 3:20 am

OK, for more fuel to the flames - I found why case 2 "works" - but doesnt - but does

The situation where the ECMP was running - but onlu one route was active - was only partially true. The secondary route had injected itself into the primary - so WAS ECMP - tested and was multipathing randomly.
This was due to 2 things - as far as i can tell.
1. The Gateway was the same - being sent via BPG (from 2 sources pointing to the same point - neither were the gaterway)
2. There was a ECMP Path to the gateway of each of these routes. As an aside - the ECMP route WAS NOT active (was blue) but was still an equivalent to an ECMP route.

Had added long distance static ECMP failove to part of my setup - and on one of the tails - saw this.

The router in question is 7.1.3, it's peers are 7.1.3 and 6.47.10

The other one in question - the 7.1.3 upstream - get routes from the router above, but as a failover - also gets routes from it's 6.47.10 companion for the router above.
In this case - there are no static routes to the downstream - but this router IS showing both sets as ECMP... ALSO, rather than injecting the 2 routes into one - they are being shown as 2 seperate active routes - like when doing static in ROS 7x (unlike the one above which was more similar to ECMP in ROS 6x)

The problem I have is that is that in the last case here - I don't think I want ECMP - as both paths are actually going to 1 router - but one is 1 hop and the other is 2... I'd rather have failover route for if a bgp drops or ip drop or something... Either way - I got work to do.

If i can knuckle down how it works - and I remeber - will post here. Otherwise hope that rough outline helps someone figure out their ECMP.
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 7065
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: BGP + ECMP

Tue Mar 22, 2022 9:25 am

BGP routes recursively resolved on ECMP routes will also be ECMP, see here:
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:B ... interfaces

Feature where BGP creates multipath routes (BGP multipath) is not implemented at the moment.
 
tiernano
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 1:51 pm

Re: BGP + ECMP

Tue Mar 28, 2023 1:29 am

BGP routes recursively resolved on ECMP routes will also be ECMP, see here:
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:B ... interfaces

Feature where BGP creates multipath routes (BGP multipath) is not implemented at the moment.
Any idea when this will be enabled?
 
User avatar
spippan
Member
Member
Posts: 346
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 1:00 pm
Location: Austria

Re: BGP + ECMP

Tue Mar 28, 2023 3:05 am

BGP routes recursively resolved on ECMP routes will also be ECMP, see here:
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:B ... interfaces

Feature where BGP creates multipath routes (BGP multipath) is not implemented at the moment.
also working in v7 ?
 
User avatar
Amm0
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3616
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 7:12 pm
Location: California

Re: BGP + ECMP

Tue Mar 28, 2023 3:34 am

Feature where BGP creates multipath routes (BGP multipath) is not implemented at the moment.
also working in v7 ?
The crystal ball is unclear, it's not yellow or green, but also not red...
https://help.mikrotik.com/docs/display/ ... l+Overview

Isn't white the color of surrender?
 
oeyre
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 12:48 pm

Re: BGP + ECMP

Mon Jul 17, 2023 6:59 pm

BGP routes recursively resolved on ECMP routes will also be ECMP, see here:
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:B ... interfaces

Feature where BGP creates multipath routes (BGP multipath) is not implemented at the moment.
Sorry, can you please clarify the difference?
 
yuuzi41
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2023 6:17 pm

Re: BGP + ECMP

Fri Aug 04, 2023 5:45 pm

+1 - I'm in need of BGP multipath. I'd like to use the feature to build an scalable IP Clos network.
 
amix
just joined
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 19, 2021 11:16 pm

Re: BGP + ECMP

Thu Mar 14, 2024 9:23 pm

Something have silently changed
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 7065
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: BGP + ECMP

Thu Mar 14, 2024 11:31 pm

nothing is silently changed, multipath is still not implemented.
 
DarkNate
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1052
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2020 4:37 pm

Re: BGP + ECMP

Tue Mar 19, 2024 11:54 am

Will MikroTik support BGP multipath UCMP? I.e. to allow us to specify the bandwidth profile for each interface? And therefore perform load balancing across the interfaces either using:
1. Per packet (bad idea for stability/traceroutes etc)
2. Per flow (layer 2/3/4 hashing)

https://vxplanet.com/2019/01/03/bgp-loa ... balancing/
 
RcRaCk2k
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 10:40 pm

Re: BGP + ECMP

Sun Apr 21, 2024 11:16 pm

Something have silently changed
This happens when you have 2 or more BGP-Profiles.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests