Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
marria
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 8:41 pm

Setting I can't find - admin keeps trying login

Thu Dec 30, 2021 6:42 pm

I don't have a admin account on a rb4011 that I setup a a dude server on. After setting up a first subnet to monitor, I see on one of the routers that will notify of failed logins, that the dude is constantly trying to login with admin . I cannot figure out where this setting can be changed. It is successfully connecting to all devices otherwise using proper credentials in routerOS or snmp community I setup, but this admin setting alludes me.
Thanks in advance for any help.

Michael
 
User avatar
marria
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 8:41 pm

Re: Setting I can't find - admin keeps trying login

Mon Jan 10, 2022 12:44 am

OK getting no help here let me rephrase

How to tell the Dude to Shut the hell up?? (yes I can disable it)

Server constant barrage of admin login attempts - - -
client constant barrage of admin login attempts - - - gets much worse if server is disabled.

I never asked the Dude to use "admin" for anything on server or client - if either is running, there is a constant barrage of attempts to connect to EVERYTHING it sees with admin.
C'mon! There must be a way to stop that.
 
User avatar
bpwl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2474
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 1:16 am

Re: Setting I can't find - admin keeps trying login

Mon Jan 10, 2022 1:00 am

It has to do with those RouterOS settings in the added DUDE devices ...
You expect it from the right hand side, not from the left hand side, but that one starts collecting RouterOS data !
.
Klembord-2.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
marria
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 8:41 pm

Re: Setting I can't find - admin keeps trying login

Tue Jan 11, 2022 3:36 am

Well I have this on all my devices, so I still am mystified:
Image

Tried to post picture, been off this forum a long time, no longer remember the secret to do that.

However, if in your picture, you replace admin, with the adminstrative name I use for all devices and password, you would not find the word admin anywhere.
Yet it persists in trying to connect winbox with it anyway, according to the device logs.
 
User avatar
bpwl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2474
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 1:16 am

Re: Setting I can't find - admin keeps trying login

Tue Jan 11, 2022 10:06 am

Tried to post picture, been off this forum a long time, no longer remember the secret to do that.

Add "*.JPG" as "Attachments" and then "Place inline"
 
User avatar
bpwl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2474
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 1:16 am

Re: Setting I can't find - admin keeps trying login

Tue Jan 11, 2022 10:07 am

Maybe "Reconnect" is needed to activate the new username. Or a DUDE restart.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests