Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
stevekwok
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 4:56 pm

Dude client 7.1 and 7.1rc not working in Windows 11

Wed Dec 08, 2021 11:56 am

I am not able to start 7.1 and 7.1rc in windows 11. v6.x works.

6.48.6
2021-12-08 17_46_34-MikroTik Routers and Wireless - Software.png
7.1 and 7.1rc (sorry the dialog is in chinese)
The message Application unable to start correctly 0xc0000005 can appear when trying to launch an application
2021-12-08 17_53_44-MikroTik - Post a new topic.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
GodOfOwls
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2020 5:41 am

Re: Dude client 7.1 and 7.1rc not working in Windows 11

Mon Dec 13, 2021 8:34 pm

This also happens on my Windows 10 Laptop running 21H1 Build 19043.1348

Launching The Dude with administrative privilages does not result in an error message but the Program will not launch regardless.
 
AUsquirrel
newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 10:28 pm

Re: Dude client 7.1 and 7.1rc not working in Windows 11

Mon Dec 20, 2021 10:51 pm

Same issue here on a Win 10 21H2 box.
 
harryfz
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2020 3:41 am

Re: Dude client 7.1 and 7.1rc not working in Windows 11

Wed Dec 29, 2021 1:35 am

Same here with Windows 11.

I tried this solution, but it's not working.
viewtopic.php?t=164258#p863346
 
fhuladaq
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:51 am

Re: Dude client 7.1 and 7.1rc not working in Windows 11

Wed Jan 12, 2022 2:31 am

Same here with windows 10 on 2 deferent PC's
Please give a solution on this problems i can't monitor my network....
 
yupych
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2022 9:44 pm

Re: Dude client 7.1 and 7.1rc not working in Windows 11

Tue Jan 25, 2022 9:50 pm

Same problem
Win XP   x86 - OK
Win 7    x86 - fail
Win 7    x64 - fail
Win 8.1 U3 x86 - fail
Win 8.1 U3 x64 - fail
Win 10 1709 x86 - fail
Win 10 1909 x64 - fail
Win 10 2004 x64 - fail
Win 10 20H2 x64 - fail
Win 10 21H1 x64 - fail
I also tested running the program under Ubuntu 20.04, using Wine. This variant passed.
There is also an option to run it under Wine, but with WSL installed under Windows.

I took a look at the application. Unfortunately, it was built with rather low security requirements, which in Windows 10 are already unacceptable.

Unfortunately, the authors of the program did not bother to make this program work on current versions of Windows.
If it had the source code, I could try to rebuild it according to modern rules.
@admin Can you publish the sources on GitHub? We will fix this monster ourselves with the whole community.
Last edited by yupych on Wed Jan 26, 2022 9:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
nzuser
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2022 6:14 pm

Re: Dude client 7.1 and 7.1rc not working in Windows 11

Wed Feb 09, 2022 6:26 pm

has this issue been resolved??
 
tyby
newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 5:03 pm
Location: Bucharest / RO

Re: Dude client 7.1 and 7.1rc not working in Windows 11

Mon Feb 14, 2022 10:20 am

Same here, Windows 10 Pro x64, 21H2.

The Dude 7.1.1, 7.1.2 and 7.2rc3 - none are starting.

Running normally: 0xc0000005 error at start-up, and that's it. Process not present.

Running as admin: nothing (no message, no start), process not present.
2022-02-14 (0).png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
cstrobl
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 3:03 pm

Re: Dude client 7.1 and 7.1rc not working in Windows 11

Fri Feb 18, 2022 10:11 am

dude.png
same. dude client 7.1.2 (and previous Versions 7.1.1 ) are not starting in Win 11.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
galaktycznyseba
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2022 8:22 pm

Dude client 7.1 and 7.1rc kind of working in Windows 11 terrorized by stack of Hyper-V or VirtualBox, Debian, WineHQ, Vc

Tue Feb 22, 2022 10:36 pm

I've tried the WSL route to no avail. So don't bother. It will reliably fail with the same cryptic error code.
dudeonwineondebianonwindows.png
We've gotta think harder than that. First of all, how big is the desire to run this software on Windows 11? Quite a lot, I believe. Many would consider Wine on WSL crazy, if not outright blasphemous. That includes the official Wine documentation. Of course it does work with e.g. notepad, but not in this particular case. Let's try something different.

Follow that rabbit hole at your own risk. I'm not paying back for lost time, jobs, sanity, borked Windows installs, exploded routers or getting invaded by a neighboring country.

I know for a fact that Dude is fully usable inside Wine on Debian. Actually even Mikrotik states that Dude works in Wine on Linux. A virtual machine will do as a workaround, but it will be resource heavy. A full-blown distro with whole desktop environment just for one application. There has to be another way. And there is.

I've spun up a VM in VirtualBox and installed Debian. Later I've migrated it to Hyper-V for better performance and integration with Windows. Hyper-V comes only with Pro versions of Windows, so use whichever you have at hand. 8 GB drive, 1GB RAM and 2 cores is plenty. You will need two network interfaces: one comes default, with NAT to access internet and your Dude instance; another to connect on X server on host OS (read on!). You need to create another virtual switch configured as "internal network". A virtual Ethernet device will be created and I've set some private address to it (192.168.57.1/24 in my case).
vEthernet.png
It doesn't differ a lot in VirtualBox.
After booting the VM, install Debian with default settings on a single partition to keep things simple. Uncheck desktop, GNOME etc. in tasksel, leave checked only "standard system utilities" and (important) ssh. Then install WineHQ according to instructions. I chose winehq-staging because I like risk but not danger. Setup network interfaces (/etc/network/interfaces):
allow-hotplug eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp

auto eth1
iface eth1 inet static
	address 192.168.57.2/24
The interfaces might be named like enp0s3 in VirtualBox so pay attention. The static address of eth1 is of course supposed to connect with host Windows vEthernet, so please set addresses accordingly. Use another subnet if this one overlaps with your network. Place host's address in DISPLAY env variable of your user (not root!):
echo "export DISPLAY=192.168.57.1:0 >> ~/.bashrc
. You may restart networking in systemctl to enable your IP address, and log out then log in to read .bashrc... or just reboot, it will be super fast anyway. The system is ready to start GUI apps, it just needs an X server. VcXsrv is good enough on basic settings, just check "Disable access control" to allow network connection. Note: it allows anyone in your network to pop windows on your desktop, so you might want to seal this hole using windows firewall or host-based access. Refer to VcXsrv documentation for that. When you've got your X server up and running, you can now

wget https://download.mikrotik.com/routeros/7.1.3/dude-install-7.1.3.exe
wine dude-install-7.1.3.exe
wine .wine/drive_c/Program\ Files\ \(x86\)/Dude/dude.exe
and from now on it goes almost as easy as it would on Windows. If you want to do something about the ugly default Wine theme, there's a Windows 10 inspired one: https://www.reddit.com/r/linux_gaming/c ... indows_10/. And more importantly, a launch file so you don't need to type it every time. Create a text file Dude.xlaunch
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<XLaunch WindowMode="MultiWindow" ClientMode="StartProgram" LocalClient="False" Display="-1" RemoteProgram="wine /home/dude/.wine/drive_c/Program\ Files\ \(x86\)/Dude/dude.exe 2> /dev/null > /dev/null" RemotePassword="12345" PrivateKey="" RemoteHost="192.168.57.2" RemoteUser="dude" XDMCPHost="" XDMCPBroadcast="False" XDMCPIndirect="False" Clipboard="True" ClipboardPrimary="True" ExtraParams="" Wgl="True" DisableAC="True" XDMCPTerminate="False"/>
Adjust RemotePassword, RemoteHost, RemoteUser accordingly. Remove
2> /dev/null > /dev/null
to have a super-annoying window with log pop up everytime you touch anything in Dude window. Or better don't. Place this file on your desktop and double-click it anytime you want to use The Dude. You will need a running VM in the background for this to work, but from what I've found i doesn't burden my computer a lot. One could think of a PowerShell script for starting and shutting down the VM, but I'm way too lazy for that. And this hack will hopefully lose its usefulness, as I hope that The Dude gets fixed soon.
dudehyperv.png
note: I've found out that plink.exe that comes with VcXsrv has a bug that prevents using launch files, producing a weird error about unknown parameter ssh. I've procured plink.exe that's not broken from PuTTY's website and replaced it in
C:\Program Files\VcXsrv
.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
stevekwok
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 4:56 pm

Re: Dude client 7.1 and 7.1rc not working in Windows 11

Tue Mar 01, 2022 11:14 am

Is there a fix?
 
tigrr
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 8:47 pm

Re: Dude client 7.1 and 7.1rc not working in Windows 11

Fri Mar 04, 2022 4:27 pm

WTF is going on here, where is mikrotik support ?
 
mbeauverd
just joined
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 10:46 am

Re: Dude client 7.1 and 7.1rc not working in Windows 11

Tue Mar 08, 2022 6:46 pm

Same issue here with Windows 11 ...
Any fix ?
 
TheContinentalOp
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2022 6:06 pm

Re: Dude client 7.1 and 7.1rc not working in Windows 11

Sun Mar 13, 2022 6:29 pm

I've tried this on the nearest 3 Windows 10 computers I could find and got the same error msg on all of them.

Because I only wanted to test out the Dude I played around with and downgraded my ‎RB750Gr3 to v6.48 (all good practice) with the same version Dude client and server. As I'm sure you'll all guessed it worked fine.

Of course it all broke again when I upgraded and tried the 7.1.3 Stable client.

I would really like to know if ANYONE has the Dude client version 7.1 working on Windows 10 or 11?

I've just noticed version 7.2rc4 Testing and gave that a try. The only difference is I have to dig around in Windows Event Viewer to find the same error.
 
IanICTSG
just joined
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 4:46 pm

Re: Dude client 7.1 and 7.1rc not working in Windows 11

Mon Mar 21, 2022 10:15 am

This issue is generated by Windows and exploit protection which is turned on by default.

To fix:

Settings > Windows Security > App & Browser Control > Exploit Protection Settings > Program Settings > Add program to Customise > Fill in: dude.exe

Then edit all the options so they are on "override" and turned OFF

Good luck!
 
User avatar
Larsa
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 575
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 7:40 pm

Re: Dude client 7.1 and 7.1rc not working in Windows 11

Mon Mar 21, 2022 10:44 am

 
akarpas
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 174
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 4:46 pm

Re: Dude client 7.1 and 7.1rc not working in Windows 11

Fri Mar 25, 2022 1:19 pm

My home Router is CCR 1009 OS v7 I have downloaded The Dude VHDX 6.49.5 and installed it as a virtual router on Synology NAS. All works great no problems crashes monitors whole my home network, having a good play with SNMP as was able to set a network map nearly the same as per physical layout. I'm impressed a good job Mikrotik. Just to mention Dude client I use on Windows 11 machines all works no problems.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests