Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
connectlife
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 10:20 pm

ISP PPPoE Server - Change Dynamic Route Distance for FailOver

Wed Mar 30, 2022 9:45 pm

Hi everyone, I have a Mikrotik PPPoE server that handles about 1000 connections (we are an ISP)

To some of our customers we provide a backup line with different technology from the main one, for example the main one in FTTH, backup via FWA / Wireless.

Both lines authenticate to our PPPoE Server
In the routing table a DAC route with weight 0 is created with dst-address = IP Client and on the interface the dynamically created PPPoE interface.

The problem is that both sessions are on distance = 0. I would like the main one to be distance = 0 and the secondary one with a greater distance, in this way the backup line is used only in case of failure of the primary.

With both distances set to 0 the traffic passes from the line that authenticated last, so I would run the risk of sending the traffic to the customer on the backup line

We use the same username / password on both sessions so that we can also backup any Static IPs / Network Subnets / 29

The PPPoE Server for customer auth relies on our Radius Server

Some advice?
 
connectlife
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 10:20 pm

Re: ISP PPPoE Server - Change Dynamic Route Distance for FailOver

Sun May 29, 2022 10:57 pm

Up!
 
connectlife
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 10:20 pm

Re: ISP PPPoE Server - Change Dynamic Route Distance for FailOver

Mon May 30, 2022 12:26 pm

Solved
 
User avatar
Larsa
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 578
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 7:40 pm

Re: ISP PPPoE Server - Change Dynamic Route Distance for FailOver

Mon May 30, 2022 12:49 pm

Solved

If possible please tell how it was solved since it might be good for others to know with similar problems. Thanks in advance!
 
connectlife
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 10:20 pm

Re: ISP PPPoE Server - Change Dynamic Route Distance for FailOver

Mon May 30, 2022 1:08 pm

Let's suppose we have a login like:
test@test.com, this login is configured on an FTTC access and test1@test.com on an FWA access. Both logins must deliver the same IP / Subnet address to the customer. The FTTC login is the master, the FWA login is the backup. Both logins are configured on the same customer CPE

At the Radius level:

test@test.com
Framed-IP-Address> 10.219.100.1 (example)
Framed-Route> 1.2.3.4/32 10.219.100.1 1

1.2.3.4/32 is the subnet to route
10.219.100.1 is the Framed-IP-Address
1 is the distance that will be learned in the PPPoE server

test1@test.com
Framed-IP-Address> 10.219.100.2 (example)
Framed-Route> 1.2.3.4/32 10.219.100.2 2

1.2.3.4/32 is the subnet to route
10.219.100.2 is the Framed-IP-Address
2 is the distance that will be learned in the PPPoE server

In this way the PPPoe Server will have distance 1 on the FTTC access and distance 2 on the FWA access. If the FTTC line has problems, the failover is instantaneous.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests