Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
stefanrusu
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2022 2:45 pm

Routet os 6 rb3011uias

Mon Jun 06, 2022 2:53 pm

Hello @all,

I use a router rb3011 uias with the latest update and i am encouteting an problem with a forwarding .

I have wan on eth1 and lan on eth2 . This are in bridge . On eth 2 (lan) , my server , i need to connect it to another network wich is goinv through a gateway. I use eth6, for this connection and setup like this :

Address for eth6 : 10.90.1.10/24
Network 10.90.1.0

Route to : 10.104.1.0/24 via gateway 10.90.1.10.

The 10.90.1.10 is responding to ping but 10.104.1.0 no .
The ideea is to connect to 10.104.1.20:5890 (server) via 10.90.1.1

What i am missing here ?

Thanks for the help
 
fragtion
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 204
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2009 10:08 pm
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

Re: Routet os 6 rb3011uias

Wed Jun 08, 2022 2:12 pm

Hello @all,

I use a router rb3011 uias with the latest update and i am encouteting an problem with a forwarding .

I have wan on eth1 and lan on eth2 . This are in bridge . On eth 2 (lan) , my server , i need to connect it to another network wich is goinv through a gateway. I use eth6, for this connection and setup like this :

Address for eth6 : 10.90.1.10/24
Network 10.90.1.0

Route to : 10.104.1.0/24 via gateway 10.90.1.10.

The 10.90.1.10 is responding to ping but 10.104.1.0 no .
The ideea is to connect to 10.104.1.20:5890 (server) via 10.90.1.1

What i am missing here ?

Thanks for the help
Your explanation seems a bit confusing and incomplete (to me at least)

1) Is your eth1 (wan) and eth2 (lan) both on the same bridge? You make it sound like that.... but, WAN should not be on the bridge with LAN.

2) You are routing 10.104.1.0/24 via gateway 10.90.1.10, but 10.90.1.10 is the IP address of the local router you are working on (you say it's the Address for eth6)? That's not how routing works. You need to have the remote router's IP as your gateway for that route.

3) The 10.90.1.10 is responding to ping but 10.104.1.0 no . -- Why are you trying to ping 10.104.1.0? That's the network IP for your /24, not a usable IP that can be assigned to a device...

You should spend more time explaining your situation better, paying more attention to detail and ensuring that you communicate accurate information as that will increase your chances of being assisted on the forums. You could start by correcting the typing error in your title where you call a router a "Routet" ... It also seems like you've provided incorrect information such as your gateway IP addresses. I'll be surprised if anyone can assist you without you first correcting these problems.

Anyway, it SOUNDS like you have a remote network 10.104.1.0/24 which you want to be accessible via eth6 of your local router (10.90.1.10/24). In that case you need to do the following:
1) Add route 10.104.1.0/24 via corresponding remote gateway IP on the same transit subnet (10.90.1.x/24). You didn't mention what the other router's IP is, but that will be your gateway for this route.
Assuming remote device is 10.90.1.1, then you can do: /ip route add address=10.104.1.0/24 gateway=10.90.1.1
2) If you are trying to ping a remote device at 10.104.1.0/24, not from your local router but from another local device such as a PC, then you need to ensure that the remote router has a route for your local LAN range pointing to your local router (10.90.1.10/24), otherwise the remote network will not be able to route reply packets back to your local LAN.
for instance, if your local LAN is 10.100.1.0/24, you can add this rule on the remote router: /ip route add address=10.100.1.0/24 gateway=10.90.1.10
Then any device on the remote side should be able to ping a device on your side (and vice versa), so long as both devices have the respective site routers as their default gateway (or static routes configured for these IP ranges via the respective routers as the gateway)
If you can't add such a route on the remote end, then you will need to do srcnat masquerading on your router to ensure that all traffic leaving your router will originate from your router's IP address (10.90.1.10/24) in order that reply packets can be routed back to your local router again. In that case, pings to 10.104.1.0/24 network will start to work as expected (assuming no firewall blocking ICMP along the way).

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests