Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
etimacias
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2022 4:08 pm

RB5009 PoE in doesn't work with Netgear GSM4210P PoE+ switch

Thu Sep 08, 2022 4:23 pm

RB5009 does not get the PoE power from the Netgear GSM4210P switch.

The switch is PoE+ capable and supports all necessary standards (802.3at, 802.3af, passive POE, and compatible 802.3at). Different devices work perfectly, including Unifi APs and Raspberry PI.

I also tried different Mikrotik devices that I own, and none of them can use the PoE from this switch - including the first HAP AC and CRS210-8G-2S+IN.
Is Mikrotik PoE+ compatible only with Mikrotik PoE+ switches?

Any
 
McKajVah
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2022 10:43 pm

Re: RB5009 PoE in doesn't work with Netgear GSM4210P PoE+ switch

Fri Sep 09, 2022 12:33 am

I have the same problem with a Unifi US-16-150W POE+ switch.

POE+ in on port 1 it just starts blinking yellow randomly. POE+ on port 2-8, nothing, dead.

Works fine if I use the power brick.
 
olivier2831
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 250
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 6:53 pm

Re: RB5009 PoE in doesn't work with Netgear GSM4210P PoE+ switch

Fri Sep 09, 2022 11:33 am

RB5009 does not get the PoE power from the Netgear GSM4210P switch.

The switch is PoE+ capable and supports all necessary standards (802.3at, 802.3af, passive POE, and compatible 802.3at). Different devices work perfectly, including Unifi APs and Raspberry PI.

I also tried different Mikrotik devices that I own, and none of them can use the PoE from this switch - including the first HAP AC and CRS210-8G-2S+IN.
Is Mikrotik PoE+ compatible only with Mikrotik PoE+ switches?

Any
1. Have you tried powering RB5009 with 24V PoE ?
2. Have you tried using 48 to 24 power convertor (RBPOE-CON-HP) ? Doing so, you must first power the convertor on, plugging it to an upstream PoE port, then a couple of seconds later, you connect your mikrotik device to the convertor.
 
girts
just joined
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2019 5:56 pm

Re: RB5009 PoE in doesn't work with Netgear GSM4210P PoE+ switch

Fri Sep 09, 2022 11:58 am

Hello,
We are sorry that you had to face this issue. Please, upgrade your RB5009UPr+S+IN to version 7.6beta6 and you will be able to power on these devices via ether1 from all the PSEs providing mode A.
 
User avatar
jbl42
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2020 12:58 pm

Re: RB5009 PoE in doesn't work with Netgear GSM4210P PoE+ switch

Fri Sep 09, 2022 5:03 pm

1. I'm not sure the OP is talking about RB5009UPr. The "normal" RB5009 also has PoE in on ether1
2. The 7.6beta6 release notes do not mention any PoE in related fix
3. Running betas on production devices is a no-go. So are you telling us RB5009UPr is not ready for production yet?

An then to the evergreen topic: How MT manages to release "stable" ROS 7.5 without recognizing it breaks PoE in on RB5009UPr?
There is obviously still no SW testing happening at MT. Not even for "stable" releases. And still no meaningful release notes.
MT still has an exceptionally low bar on SW quality.
 
Keljian
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2015 5:24 am

Re: RB5009 PoE in doesn't work with Netgear GSM4210P PoE+ switch

Mon Oct 03, 2022 11:29 am

While I am far from a heavy user of PoE, I have two ubiquiti u6 pro points hanging off my 5009UPr and am running 7.5, and it is working fine.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests