Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
djnavster
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2022 12:18 pm

Mikrotik PTP / PTMP Advise

Tue Sep 20, 2022 12:23 pm

Hey There

hoping some Mikrotik PTP / PTMP guru will be able to advise and help out with the following

at a business we currently have setup MIKROTIK WIRELESS WIRE CUBE 60GHZ BRIDGE PTP KIT WITH 5GHZ FAILOVER CubeG-5ac60adpair over an distance of 80m, which has been working great for the last couple of months.

We are now looking to create another network at a building which is approx 305m away and we were originally advised that a Single CubeG-5ac60ad on this building pointed back towards one of the above cubes (Tower) as well as reconfiguring this Tower Cube into a Level 4 License would enable this new building to receive network connectivity.

However we have now been advised that a CubeG-5ac60ay-SA would replace the Tower Cube and both of the original kit Cubes will point back to the this CubeG-5ac60ay-SA new cube.

Apologise in advance if my wording / technical understanding isn’t correct, but am hoping someone might be able advise which of the above options would be best going forward.

have googled and read a bunch of how to guides on this but would appreciate any other direction / advise on how best to proceed. side note: running cables is not an option unfortunately.

thanks in advance for your help with this
 
Rox169
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 223
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2021 1:47 am

Re: Mikrotik PTP / PTMP Advise

Tue Sep 20, 2022 2:50 pm

Hi,
old cube CubeG-5ac60ad has only 12° angle antenna and it is not meant to be AP.

Definitely use CubeG-5ac60ay-SA as AP and 2 cube as clinets. But be carefull at them moment is CubeG-5ac60ay-SA buggy. MT hoppefuly should fix it soon.
 
prague
newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 10:37 am

Re: Mikrotik PTP / PTMP Advise

Thu Oct 06, 2022 9:21 am

Hi,
old cube CubeG-5ac60ad has only 12° angle antenna and it is not meant to be AP.

Definitely use CubeG-5ac60ay-SA as AP and 2 cube as clinets. But be carefull at them moment is CubeG-5ac60ay-SA buggy. MT hoppefuly should fix it soon.
yes it's really buggy device. we've tried CubeG-5ac60ay-SA with CubeG-5ac60ay-SA also CubeG-5ac60ay-SA with Cube 60Pro ac getting same issues. One cpe disconnect all other cpes disconect from AP

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot], Semrush [Bot] and 18 guests