Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
MikroNew
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2022 1:49 pm

Problem connecting tplink extender to hap ac3

Sat Nov 12, 2022 8:00 am

Hi I tried to connect the tp-link extender to the hap ac3, it connects, but there is no internet
 
User avatar
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 14387
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Problem connecting tplink extender to hap ac3

Sat Nov 12, 2022 2:14 pm

Are you sure a wifi extender from a different vendor will work well together??
 
User avatar
bpwl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2447
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 1:16 am

Re: Problem connecting tplink extender to hap ac3

Sat Nov 12, 2022 3:59 pm

With wifi extender problems, no internet traffic, first cause is usually the (MT) DHCP server handshake failure to the client device over the wifi extender.

Got no DHCP lease IP address from the hAP ac3? Use a static address. If that works, try some DHCP workaround on the TP-Link.

viewtopic.php?t=116963
 
User avatar
broderick
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 219
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2020 7:44 pm

Re: Problem connecting tplink extender to hap ac3

Mon Nov 14, 2022 8:59 pm

Are you sure a wifi extender from a different vendor will work well together??
Tplink extenders work fine with ISP routers mostly. I set a tp-link extender with an ISP router last week.
Never tried with MK devices though.
 
User avatar
bpwl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2447
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 1:16 am

Re: Problem connecting tplink extender to hap ac3

Tue Nov 15, 2022 3:52 pm

I have the impression (no proof with double check tests done) that it worked in more cases with a different brand DHCP server (like my Draytek router DHCP server) for a Mikrotik AP, than when using MT DHCP, for a repeater (pseudo bridge style) setup with tp-link repeater. But MT AP-bridge with MT station-bridge always works (no pseudo-bridge here).
 
dave3
newbie
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2022 8:06 am

Re: Problem connecting tplink extender to hap ac3

Tue Nov 15, 2022 5:05 pm

For what it's worth, I have in the past, connected a tplink extender and it's gotten a dhcp address from my mikrotik router and worked. However, it was connected to another tplink access point that was connected to the wired mikrotik router.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest