Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
JoshDi
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri May 21, 2021 4:49 pm

OSPF PTMP with v7.1.1 or v7.2rc1 Issues

Mon Jan 10, 2022 4:11 pm

Hi All,

I am having an issue with getting any OSPF routes on v7.1.1 or v7.2rc1. The configuration works perfectly on v6 and I have tried to modify the filters & interface-templates in v7 to get this working, but still never gets any routes or neighbors. I added accept to the OSPF_IN filter (set bgp-communities 65000:110; set distance 205; accept) list and tried disabling OSPF_OUT filters or changing the filters with accepts to "set ospf-ext-type type1; accept;" I dont get any OSPF routes or neighbors, even rules that are filtered out.

The OSPF routes come via a L2TP+IPSEC interface via 10.70.91.0/24 network, but again dont show up at all in v7.
I am running a OSPF PTMP Type1 configuration.

Can someone please help or provide some ideas on how to fix this? Thank you!

OSPF v6 configuration snippets:
/routing filter add chain=ospf-in set-bgp-communities=65000:110 set-distance=205
/routing filter add action=jump chain=ospf-out jump-target=meshaddrs
/routing filter add action=discard chain=meshaddrs prefix=10.70.72.1 prefix-length=32
/routing filter add action=discard chain=meshaddrs prefix=10.70.91.1 prefix-length=32
/routing filter add action=accept chain=meshaddrs prefix=10.0.0.0/8 prefix-length=18-32
/routing filter add action=accept chain=meshaddrs prefix=0.0.0.0/0
/routing filter add action=discard chain=meshaddrs

/routing ospf instance set [ find default=yes ] router-id=10.69.1.177 redistribute-connected=as-type-1 metric-default=500
/routing filter add chain="ospf-in" set-bgp-communities=65000:110 set-distance=205
/routing ospf interface add interface=mesh network-type=ptmp
/routing ospf interface add interface=wds network-type=ptmp
/routing ospf interface add cost=50 interface=nycmesh-375p-core2 network-type=ptmp
/routing ospf network add area=backbone network=10.69.0.0/16
/routing ospf network add area=backbone network=10.68.0.0/16
/routing ospf network add area=backbone network=10.70.72.0/24
/routing ospf network add area=backbone network=10.70.91.0/24
 
User avatar
IPANetEngineer
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1681
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 6:46 am
Location: iparchitechs.com
Contact:

Re: OSPF PTMP with v7.1.1 or v7.2rc1 Issues

Mon Jan 10, 2022 4:40 pm

From what I recall, OSPF PTMP hasn't been implemented yet in v7 even though the network type is there - MikroTik can confirm i'm sure

Have you tried your config with a broadcast network type to confirm that ptmp is in fact the issue?
 
JoshDi
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri May 21, 2021 4:49 pm

Re: OSPF PTMP with v7.1.1 or v7.2rc1 Issues

Mon Jan 10, 2022 10:15 pm

From what I recall, OSPF PTMP hasn't been implemented yet in v7 even though the network type is there - MikroTik can confirm i'm sure

Have you tried your config with a broadcast network type to confirm that ptmp is in fact the issue?
No, i was going to try that later. Thank you for the suggestion
 
JoshDi
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri May 21, 2021 4:49 pm

Re: OSPF PTMP with v7.1.1 or v7.2rc1 Issues

Tue Jan 11, 2022 3:49 pm

confirmed with mikrotik support - ptmp ospf does not work for v7 and will be fixed in a later version :?
 
JoshDi
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri May 21, 2021 4:49 pm

Re: OSPF PTMP with v7.1.1 or v7.2rc1 Issues

Thu Jan 13, 2022 6:39 pm

support got back to me that ospf ptmp will work in v7.x versions if you set static-neighbors. I just set that up and happy to report it is in fact working!
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6827
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: OSPF PTMP with v7.1.1 or v7.2rc1 Issues

Thu Jan 13, 2022 8:51 pm

Also we will add new mode ptmp-broadcast which will work the same way it worked in ROS v6, to discover neighbours automatically.
 
JoshDi
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri May 21, 2021 4:49 pm

Re: OSPF PTMP with v7.1.1 or v7.2rc1 Issues

Mon Jul 25, 2022 7:35 pm

I've been working on getting this working for a while (OSPF PTMP with Bird).

Im happy to report that v7.4 works with Bird if you set the OSPF type in Mikrotik to be PTMP. If you want PTMP to work like it did in v6 (and only with mikrotik devices) you need to use PTMP Broadcast in v7

This is allowing me to run wireguard on mikrotik and use OSPF PTMP with BIRD

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ax25, Bing [Bot] and 2 guests