Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
craigmcfly
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2022 2:36 am

Use of default-originate in BGP

Mon Sep 05, 2022 2:41 am

Am I right in thinking that Mikrotik uses default-originate to announce a default route, even if it isn't being originated?

I created the following setup
Router1   <> Router2 <>  Router3
AS1          AS2         AS2 
 
so Router2 and Router3 were talking over iBGP, and Router1 was the equivalent of an upstream transit.

Router1 was announcing a default route, but the only way I could get Router2 to announce it to Router3 was to use
default-originate=if-installed
even though it wasn't originating the route.

I would expect Router2 to automatically announce the route to Router3, because the route is already in BGP.

Advice welcome.
 
paolobyte
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2017 6:00 am

Re: Use of default-originate in BGP

Mon Sep 05, 2022 11:19 am

Correct. Apparently it is not like Cisco and Juniper that advertises default route via eBGP right away.
"always" is used if you are not receiving default route from R1, but wanted to advertise default route from R2 to R3.
 
craigmcfly
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2022 2:36 am

Re: Use of default-originate in BGP

Mon Sep 05, 2022 6:06 pm

Okay, hopefully they fix this bug one day. They're using the word "originate" incorrectly.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests