Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
fred974
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 3:39 pm

Error trying to setup MLAG on CRS317-1G-16S+RM

Wed Nov 02, 2022 7:23 pm

Hi,

I have a pair of CRS317-1G-16S+RM and we are trying to setup MLAG but are facing this error message
[admin@MikroTik-10G-SW1] /interface bonding> add mlag-id-10 mode=802.3ad name=hyper1-bond slave=sfp-sfpplus2
expected end of command (line 1 column 5
Could anyone please tell me what is wrong with my syntax? I copied it from this KB:
https://help.mikrotik.com/docs/display/ ... tion+Group

Could anyone also tell mode=802.3ad is correct for LACP?

Thank you
 
connectlife
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 10:20 pm

Re: Error trying to setup MLAG on CRS317-1G-16S+RM

Sun Nov 06, 2022 2:26 pm

What version of ROS are you using?
 
tangent
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 736
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2021 3:15 pm

Re: Error trying to setup MLAG on CRS317-1G-16S+RM

Sun Nov 06, 2022 3:02 pm

The embedded “>” is a prompt character, indicating you should have pressed enter after the first line, then copied the second one in.

You could also remove the angle bracket entirely. It’ll work as a single-line command.
 
fred974
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 3:39 pm

Re: Error trying to setup MLAG on CRS317-1G-16S+RM

Mon Nov 14, 2022 12:34 pm

What version of ROS are you using?
Hi,

Sorry for the delayed reply. I use MikroTik RouterOS 6.49.7
 
fred974
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 3:39 pm

Re: Error trying to setup MLAG on CRS317-1G-16S+RM

Mon Nov 14, 2022 12:44 pm

The embedded “>” is a prompt character, indicating you should have pressed enter after the first line, then copied the second one in.

You could also remove the angle bracket entirely. It’ll work as a single-line command.
I typed this command and press enter:
 /interface bonding
I also pressed enter again after “>” but I am still getting the same error message.
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8966
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: Error trying to setup MLAG on CRS317-1G-16S+RM

Mon Nov 14, 2022 2:17 pm

In ROS 6.49 the property mlag-id is not recognised. It seems that MLAG is a new feature introduced in v7 only.
 
fred974
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 3:39 pm

Re: Error trying to setup MLAG on CRS317-1G-16S+RM

Mon Nov 14, 2022 5:35 pm

In ROS 6.49 the property mlag-id is not recognised. It seems that MLAG is a new feature introduced in v7 only.
Hi,

Sorry for the newbie question... I run the update checker and It is saying that I am on the latest version. Do I need to manually upgrade the RouterOS?
When I run the command from the documentation, do I need to do it in 'router' or 'bridge' configuration?
 
fred974
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 3:39 pm

Re: Error trying to setup MLAG on CRS317-1G-16S+RM

Mon Nov 14, 2022 6:09 pm

@mkx, I have now upgraded to MikroTik RouterOS 7.6 and the error message has gone.
Could anyone please tell me if I need to clear all configuration? Do I set the switch in 'bridge' or 'router' configuration? We are n ot using the CRS317-1G-16S+RM as router but a switch only.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests