Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
ericdriver
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2020 8:03 am

BGP ECMP doesn't work

Tue Nov 08, 2022 12:14 pm

current version 7.6
BGP ECMP doesn't work, all BGP attributes are the same, any ideas?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6818
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: BGP ECMP doesn't work

Tue Nov 08, 2022 12:24 pm

It is not supposed to work. BGP elects only one best route. BGP multipath is additional feature that is not implemented yet.
 
ericdriver
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2020 8:03 am

Re: BGP ECMP doesn't work

Tue Nov 08, 2022 12:37 pm

It is not supposed to work. BGP elects only one best route. BGP multipath is additional feature that is not implemented yet.
in this topic you can see that it works(but the soft version in 7.5)
viewtopic.php?t=189029
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6818
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: BGP ECMP doesn't work

Tue Nov 08, 2022 12:45 pm

In that topic ECMP is not the result of BGP best path selection.

You can get ECMP by running bgp on a loopbacks recursively resolved over ECMP, or by running two BGP instances, but then best path selection will not work.

As I already mentioned BGP multipath is not implemented and was not implemented in v7.5 too.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: clambert, StreamlinkUK and 2 guests