Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
pants6000
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2014 5:30 am

-48V and AC power supplies in the same router?

Wed Nov 09, 2022 5:56 pm

Is the combination of a -48V power supply (PW48V-12V85W) and an AC power supply a supported configuration? CCR2116 is my likely target.
 
User avatar
smyers119
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 226
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2021 8:16 pm
Location: USA

Re: -48V and AC power supplies in the same router?

Wed Nov 09, 2022 6:22 pm

It show's that combination in the brochure, and even mentions that specific combination in the product description. Did you try it and are having problems?
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 9595
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: 🇮🇹, my 💔 is in 🇺🇦

Re: -48V and AC power supplies in the same router?

Wed Nov 09, 2022 6:32 pm

The PW48V-12V85W work regardless - or + 48V
The + or - on voltage do not mean to "cross" the DC cables to power the device, but:
-48V = positive on the chassis/ground
48V = is supposed +48V but better know if is one error...
+48V = negative on the chassis/ground

I have the same configuration, also mixed on the same rack devices with "-" and "+", and all work as expected, without short-circuits,
because both the AC and DC power sources are galvanically isolated

but better do some test woth your other equipments before do any....
 
User avatar
pants6000
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2014 5:30 am

Re: -48V and AC power supplies in the same router?

Thu Nov 10, 2022 2:19 am

Exactly what I need to know... again. Thanks!
...
I have the same configuration, also mixed on the same rack devices with "-" and "+", and all work as expected, without short-circuits,
because both the AC and DC power sources are galvanically isolated
 
User avatar
pants6000
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2014 5:30 am

Re: -48V and AC power supplies in the same router?

Thu Nov 10, 2022 2:28 am

It show's that combination in the brochure, and even mentions that specific combination in the product description. Did you try it and are having problems?
I didn't, I missed that in the description somehow... "Simply remove one of the current power supplies..."; implying that mixing them is ok.

I have some brands where this is explicitly not supported and needed to be sure, I want to keep the magic smoke where it belongs.

Thanks!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests