Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
hrodriguesvt
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 1:58 pm

The Dude monitoring packet loss?

Tue Jun 01, 2010 3:17 pm

Hi All,

I have looked the whole forum, but haven't found a right way to make THE DUDE warn when there is ping packet loss to certain device, or icmp timeouts.

Could you please give me a hand on this?

Best regards
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6682
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: The Dude monitoring packet loss?

Tue Jun 01, 2010 3:19 pm

Perhaps I do not understand your question correctly, but the Dude default ping probe is designed to check router replies to ICMP, when ping is not possible (timeout), ping service is registered as down.
 
hrodriguesvt
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 1:58 pm

Re: The Dude monitoring packet loss?

Tue Jun 01, 2010 7:37 pm

Perhaps I do not understand your question correctly, but the Dude default ping probe is designed to check router replies to ICMP, when ping is not possible (timeout), ping service is registered as down.
Cheers sergejs,

The problem with the ping service is that when we have ICMP loss around 20%, the dude does not warn us about this.

Yesterday i realized a equipment having more than 20% of ping timeouts, but it still green on my graph.

Any suggestions?
 
lebowski
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1619
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 5:17 pm

Re: The Dude monitoring packet loss?

Tue Jun 01, 2010 9:25 pm

How come your dropping so much ICMP?

There was a ping probe that did 10 pings and calculated packet loss, check out the probe thread.

Here it is... thanks to Pablete
1st I have created a function:
Name: packet_loss_test
Desc: number of replied pings from 10 ping requests (0-10)
Code:
if( array_element(ping(device_property("FirstAddress")) , 0)<0 , 0 , 1 ) +
if( array_element(ping(device_property("FirstAddress")) , 0)<0 , 0 , 1 ) +
if( array_element(ping(device_property("FirstAddress")) , 0)<0 , 0 , 1 ) +
if( array_element(ping(device_property("FirstAddress")) , 0)<0 , 0 , 1 ) +
if( array_element(ping(device_property("FirstAddress")) , 0)<0 , 0 , 1 ) +
if( array_element(ping(device_property("FirstAddress")) , 0)<0 , 0 , 1 ) +
if( array_element(ping(device_property("FirstAddress")) , 0)<0 , 0 , 1 ) +
if( array_element(ping(device_property("FirstAddress")) , 0)<0 , 0 , 1 ) +
if( array_element(ping(device_property("FirstAddress")) , 0)<0 , 0 , 1 ) +
if( array_element(ping(device_property("FirstAddress")) , 0)<0 , 0 , 1 )

2nd) I have created the probe
Name: reachability
Type: function
Available: ping(device_property("FirstAddress")) >= 0
Error: ""
Value: packet_loss_test()*10
Unit: %

If you want finer values you can make an addition of 20 pings instead of 10 and change Value in the probe for
packet_loss_test()*5
but the probe will be more intrusive.

Sounds like it doesn't work as planned
I have noticed that the Dude only performed two pings of the ten i wrote in the function. Options are:
1) to change the function to make only two pings and to change the probe Value: packet_loss_test()*50
2) to execute an external ping. I'm working on this.
3) to enhace the ping function, with a parameter that should be the number of packets to send, and to return the number of answered packets.

Maybe you can add to it and fix it?
 
hrodriguesvt
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 1:58 pm

Re: The Dude monitoring packet loss?

Tue Jun 01, 2010 11:37 pm

Cheers lebowski

This happens only during storms or hard rain days.

When this happens, i must know.

This is the reason that I'm looking for some way to figure out how many packets are being lost.
 
lebowski
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1619
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 5:17 pm

Re: The Dude monitoring packet loss?

Wed Jun 02, 2010 4:11 pm

Is it a t1 line? Can you have them do intrusive testing when it is raining?
 
hrodriguesvt
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 1:58 pm

Re: The Dude monitoring packet loss?

Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:25 pm

Is it a t1 line? Can you have them do intrusive testing when it is raining?
It's a 15 mile radio link. I don't see any problem having a full-time ping or any other intrusive test. What is your suggeston?
 
lebowski
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1619
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 5:17 pm

Re: The Dude monitoring packet loss?

Thu Jun 03, 2010 7:21 pm

Ok so you know it breaks when it is raining because it is microwave... Disclaimer: Some of these things might not be accessible on your bridge.

Re-align the antennas and verify you are getting the most signal strength possible for the path. Calculate what your path loss should be compare your calculated value to the actual value, are they similar? if not try to determine why. Can you move one end of the link a few feet in any direction to improve line of sight?

Check your modulation/signal settings. If you can set the carrier to use 20mhz or 40mhz channels, use 20mhz.
Read up on which modulation/signal settings are most resistive to rain.

Only allow the bridge to run at a few speeds and include the ones that are resistive to rain)... These you will have to experiment with. I'd imagine that allowing the bridge to run at every speed is wasting time trying to negotiate a link at a speed that is not possible when it is raining. You might find that it runs well at certain slow speeds when it is raining. What speed does the link normally run at? Does it run at any speed in the rain?

Running 2.4ghz microwave in the rain over 15 miles is going to be tricky, consider adding a 900mhz redundant link?

As for intrusive testing what I was talking about is if someone else owns the circuit, have them test it. Since you own the link you can do all the testing you like...

I am making a lot of assumptions but instead of trying to determine how much traffic is being lost with a probe maybe you could improve the link.

I would probably build a probe that showed input error packets that would give you a good idea how the link normally performs vs when it is not. It is likely that error counts are going up quickly when it is raining.

Make a function that gives you the rate of difference for the input errors oid
Name: errorrates000
Code: rate(oid("1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.14.12")) <- that is for a Cisco T1 line on S0/0/0.

Make a probe that graphs errorrates000
Name: s000errors
Type: Function
Available: oid("1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.14.12")
error: if(oid("1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.14.12"),"","Can't read s0/0/0")
Value: errorates000()
Unit: total
rate: none

Let us know how it goes and I HTH,
Lebowski
 
friesedraad
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:30 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: The Dude monitoring packet loss?

Thu Jul 21, 2022 3:55 pm

Good way is to keep an eye on this rain fade issue, I would suggest implementing some sort of Smokeping throughout your network to compliment the Dude as such, a program such as MultiPing.com for Windows PC is very cheap and has a great graphical representation and a weeks historical data you can check daily when you start your day. It can monitor hundreds of devices (ip's) and send automated alerts.
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6682
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: The Dude monitoring packet loss?

Thu Jul 21, 2022 4:41 pm

Note, that now netwatch has some nice features to monitor different options,
https://help.mikrotik.com/docs/display/ ... ficoptions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests